Mark Winterbottom has kicked off his hopes of reviving his championship campaign in positive styler after snatching pole position for today’s opening race of the SkyCity Mark Winterbottom celebrates another pole positionTriple Crown at Darwin’s Hidden Valley Raceway.

After being quickest in the first 20-minute phase of qualifying, the Ford Performance Racing driver’s single-lap effort in the Top-10 shootout pipped Team Vodafone’s Jamie Whincup to pole position by just 0.0052 seconds.

Shane van Gisbergen took his best qualifying result of the season by qualifying third-fastest for today’s race, while the ever-consistent Steven Johnson was fourth-fastest.

A fine effort from Tim Slade saw the youngster qualify a sensational fifth-fastest, two place behind stablemate van Gisbergen, and he beat the likes of Lee Holdsworth, Craig Lowndes, Greg Murphy, Steven Owen and Paul Dumbrell in the final shootout.

One surprise absentee from the Top-10 Shootout was either of the Holden Racing Team drivers. James Courtney missed out on a top-ten berth by mere fractions, while team-mate Garth Tander qualified 19th-fastest, one place quicker than Winterbottom’s FPR team-mate Will Davison.


V8 Supercars SkyCity Triple Crown Qualifying Results (Race 1):

Driver Entry / Team Q1 Top-10
1. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:09.2123 1:09.1697
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.4666 1:09.1749
3. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.5613 1:09.3509
4. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.4370 1:09.3581
5. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.6157 1:09.4035
6. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:09.6496 1:09.4425
7. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.5040 1:09.6001
8. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:09.5003 1:09.6093
9. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport 1:09.5671 1:10.1316
10. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:09.6445 no time
11. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:09.6744  
12. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:09.7195  
13. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing 1:09.7198  
14. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:09.7815
15. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:09.8073
16. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:09.8080  
17. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:09.8170  
18. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris 1:09.8397
19. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:09.8419  
20. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:09.8674  
21. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing / Walkinsaw Racing 1:09.8788  
22. James Moffatt Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.9412
23. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing 1:09.9566
24. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.9702
25. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:09.9859
26. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno 1:10.0551
27. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing 1:10.0872
28. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil / Lucas Dumbrell 1:10.1573

* Top-10 starting order determined via a separate top-ten single-lap qualifying session

[Image and video via V8 Supercars Media]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.