Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom and Jamie Whincup have repeated their qualifying efforts from yesterday’s first race qualifying at Darwin for this weekend’s SkyCity Triple Crown V8 Supercars event.

The Ford Performance Racing driver snatched pole position in the dying minutes, with a time of 1:09.7935, just six-hundredths of a second quicker than Whincup’s best effort.

In bright and sunny conditions, it was again a tense affair as a whole host of drivers took turns at the top of the timesheets.

Much of the field went out early in the twenty-minuter session to post a banker lap before returning to the pits to collect fresh rubber ahead of a more serious crack at achieving a good qualifying result.

For Winterbottom, Whincup and Stone Brother Racing driver Shane van Gisbergen, qualifying was especially important after each was hit with a 25-point penalty after their antics during the Race 1 restart yesterday.

And Winterbottom took the ultimate redemption with pole, which he will no doubt be desperately wanting to convert into a first win of the season.

Behin the leading pair, Craig Lowndes qualified third-fastest ahead of Garry Rogers Motorsport driver Lee Holdsworth.

The next five places on the grid are all occupied by Ford drivers, with Tony D’Alberto, Will Davison, Tim Slade, Steven Johnson an Alex Davison all covered by just over 0.1 seconds. Russell Ingall completed the top-ten on the grid.

Yesterday’s race-winner Rick Kelly qualified 14th-fastest for today’s 69-lap race, one spot ahead of Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander, whose team-mate James Courtney could do no better than 21st-fastest.

Today’s longer race will see the drivers use both the ‘prime’ and ‘sprint’ Dunlop dry-weather race tyre.


V8 Supercars SkyCity Triple Crown Qualifying Results (Race 2):

Driver Entry / Team Q1
1. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:09.7935
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.0621
3. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.0689
4. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.1154
5. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.1286
6. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1345
7. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.1396
8. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.2132
9. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.2363
10. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris + 0.2370
26. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 0.3251
3. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.3284
13. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing + 0.3387
12. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.3403
19. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.3632
21. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing / Walkinsaw Racing + 0.3746
8. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 0.3831
15. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.3946
10. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.4074
16. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.4267
11. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.4285
27. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing + 0.5112
25. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.5308
28. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil / Lucas Dumbrell + 0.6079
23. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 0.6116
22. James Moffatt Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.6569
9. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport + 0.6658
26. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.7038

[Image and video via V8 Supercars Media]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.