Aleksei Dudukalo

Aleksei Dudukalo has become the last of the six SUNRED drivers to switch to the team’s new 1.6-litre turbocharged León model ahead of this weekend’s round at Donington Park, a move that effectively brings down the curtain on one of the championship’s most successful models, the SEAT León TDi.

The Spanish turbodiesel hatchback is officially no more, after an incredible five-year involvement in the sport that began with SEAT first tentatively pioneering the whisper-quiet car at the 2007 Race of Sweden at Anderstorp (pictured below).

SEAT Leon TDi With a veritable host of touring car stars behind the wheel – including the likes of Gabriele Tarquini, Yvan Muller, Rickard Rydell, Jordi Gene and Tiago Monteiro – the model claimed 32 race wins as well as making motorsport history for being the first diesel-powered car to win an FIA World Championship. Muller took the spoils in 2008, followed a year later by Tarquini.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.