International drivers are flocking to the ArmorAll 600 event on the Gold Coast

Four more international drivers have been confirmed as the latest guest drivers to join the ranks for October’s running of the V8 Supercars ArmorAll 600 on the streets of the Gold Coast.

Veteran touring car driver Fabrizio Giovanardi is the latest announcement, alongside GT driver Oliver Gavin and sports car ace Marino Franchitti, brother to IndyCar champion Dario. IndyCar driver Scott Dixon is the latest IndyCar driver to be announced as joining the championship event.

This year’s event will mark Giovanardi’s return to the venue, after the Italian earned plaudits for his work alongside Karl Reindler, helping the youngster to his then-career-best finish in the championship.

This year will see Giovanardi return to the Britek / Brad Jones Racing stable, where he will partner either Reindler or Jason Bargwanna.

Gavin – the former Formula 1 safety car driver – has been announced as the co-driver for Greg Murphy (Kelly Racing).

Former IndyCar champion Dixon – who was born nearby, despite claiming New Zealand citizenship – will join fellow Kiwi racer Shane van Gisbergen in the Stone Brothers Ford. Van Gisbergen came close to claiming his maiden V8 Supercars victory at last year’s event, only to be denied on the final lap.

And Marino Franchitti has also joined the ranks, where he will join Warren Luff in the Lucas Dumbrell-run Holden Commodore.

Those hotly tipped to still sign up for the event include Dario Franchitti and Tiago Monteiro.

So far, the provisional entry list reads as follows:

Team Driver Co-Driver  
1. Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney TBA  
2. Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe AUS
3. Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto TBA  
4. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Alex Davison Marc Lieb DEU
9. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Scott Dixon NZL
47. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade TBA  
5. Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power AUS
6. Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison TBA  
55. Rod Nash / FPR Ford Paul Dumbrell TBA  
7. Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Richard Westbrook GBR
11. Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Oliver Gavin GBR
15. Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Jörg Bergmeister DEU
16. Kelly Racing Holden David Reynolds Alex Tagliani CDN
8. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright TBA  
14. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bargwanna TBA  
21. Britek / Brad Jones Racing Holden Karl Reindler Fabrizio Giovanardi ITA
12. Triple F Racing Ford Dean Fiore TBA  
17. Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Joey Hand  
18. Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Dirk Müller DEU
19. Tekno Autosports Ford Jonathon Webb TBA  
30. Lucas Dumbrell Holden Warren Luff Marino Franchitti GBR
33. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Lee Holdsworth Augusto Farfus BRZ
34. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Simon Pagenaud FRA
39. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Russell Ingall Jan Magnussen DEN
49. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Steve Owen Boris Said  
61. Walkinsaw Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard TBA  
88. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Jamie Whincup Andy Priaulx GBR
888. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Craig Lowndes TBA  

[Image via Fox Sports]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.