A total of seven – including one current! – Formula 1 drivers will be participating in this year’s running of the V8 Supercars ArmorAll 600 round on the Gold Coast, the unique championship event where the series’ driver are paired with an international-series driver.

The likes of Mika Salo, Jan Magnussen, Sebastien Bourdais and Gianni Morbidelli will all be making their second appearance at the event, while one-time F1 driver Stephane Sarrazin will also be joined by fellow ex-F1 driver Christian Klien as V8 Supercars debutants.

Vitantonio Liuzzi will become the first ever current F1 driver to compete at the event, where he will partner Tony D’Alberto in the Wilson Security Racing entry.

The announcement was made at today’s launch of the ArmorAll 600, with series bosses also confirming that Team Penske IndyCar driver Helio Castroneves would be joining team-mates Will Power and Ryan Briscoe as part of the North American series’ growing contingent of drivers, which also includes Scott Dixon, Alex Tagliani, Simon Pagenaud and Bourdais.

So far, the (updated) provisional entry list reads as follows:

Team Driver Co-Driver  
1. Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney TBA  
2. Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe AUS
3. Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA
4. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Alex Davison Marc Lieb DEU
9. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Scott Dixon NZL
47. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade Helio Castroneves BRZ
5. Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power AUS
6. Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Mika Salo FIN
55. Rod Nash / FPR Ford Paul Dumbrell Christian Klien AUT
7. Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Jörg Bergmeister DEU
11. Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Oliver Gavin GBR
15. Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Richard Westbrook GBR
16. Kelly Racing Holden David Reynolds Alex Tagliani CDN
8. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin FRA
14. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bargwanna TBA  
21. Britek / Brad Jones Racing Holden Karl Reindler Fabrizio Giovanardi ITA
12. Triple F Racing Ford Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli ITA
17. Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Joey Hand USA
18. Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Dirk Müller DEU
19. Tekno Autosports Ford Jonathon Webb TBA  
30. Lucas Dumbrell Holden Warren Luff Marino Franchitti GBR
33. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Lee Holdsworth Augusto Farfus BRZ
34. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Simon Pagenaud FRA
39. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Russell Ingall Jan Magnussen DEN
49. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Steve Owen Boris Said USA
61. Walkinsaw Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Patrick Long USA
88. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Jamie Whincup Andy Priaulx GBR
888. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Craig Lowndes Sebastien Bourdais FRA
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.