Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton has continued to enjoy some excellent pace at the Hungaroring, after finishing quickest in today’s second free practice session for the Hungarian Grand Prix.

The McLaren driver ended the ninety-minute session on top with a time of 1:21.018, finishing up faster than Fernando Alonso, while team-mate Jenson Button finished third-fastest. The Red Bulls of Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top-five.

While the morning’s session was spared of any wet weather, some light precipitation his the Budapest venue during the afternoon’s running. Despite this, the session had few incidents of note – the usual off-track moments and lock-ups aside – although Felipe Massa suffered a harmless spin at Turn 12, but was able to rejoin the running. He finished sixth-fastest, a full second off Hamilton’s pace.

Pastor Maldonado had the misfortune of a slow puncture in the middle of the session, which forced the Venezuelan into the pits for a fresh tyre.

Behind the leading three teams, the rest of the field’s Mercedes-powered drivers completed the top ten places, with the two Mercedes GPs going quicker than the Force India drivers.

The two Sauber drivers ran on the fringes of the top ten, while a second covered the rest of the midfield of Williams, Toro Rosso and Renault entries.

Further down the order, Jarno Trulli enjoyed a rare moment in the sun by out-pacing team-mate Heikki Kovalainen, later going on to praise the new power steering system fitted to his Lotus.

Rookie driver Daniel Ricciardo was also quicker than HRT team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi.



2011 Hungarian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 1:21.018 29
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.241 40
3. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.304 34
4. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.490 35
5. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.531 31
6. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 1.081 40
7. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.103 36
8. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.422 36
9. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.817 40
10. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.963 37
11. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.012 34
12. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.381 37
13. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.661 34
14. Nick Heidfeld DEU Renault R31 + 2.843 28
15. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.163 39
16. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 3.164 26
17. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 3.528 21
18. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 3.860 35
19. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 3.976 38
20. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 4.429 39
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 5.805 33
22. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.243 28
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 6.712 31
24. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.237 25

[Image via LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.