IndyCar officials have moved to place three drivers on probation for the rest of the season, after repeatedly falling foul of the sport’s ‘avoidable contact’ rule.

Andretti Autosport’s Mike Conway and Ryan Hunter-Reay and Sam Schmidt Motorsports’ Alex Tagliani have all been judged to have broken Rule 9.3 of the series’ rulebook, which dictates that: “A competitor must not initiate or attempt to initiate avoidable contact that results in the interruption of another competitor’s lap time or track position.”

Conway was penalised for his collisions with Ryan Briscoe at Toronto and with Oriol Servia at Edmonton, while team-mate Hunter-Reay was slapped for his part in contact with Briscoe at Barber Park and Takuma Sato at Edmonton.

Tagliani was given his sanctions for his contact with Will Power at Toronto and with Graham Rahal at Edmonton.

All three have the right to protest the decision.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.