Tony Kanaan Jason Bargwanna

Tony Kanaan has become the latest IndyCar Series driver to put his name down for October’s Armor All 600 V8 Supercars round at the Gold Coast, with the 2004 champion set to partner Brad Jones Racing’s Jason Bargwanna in a Holden Commodore.

The Brazilian will join fellow IndyCar drivers Will Power, Ryan Briscoe, Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Alex Tagliani, Sebastien Bourdais, Dan Wheldon and Simon Pagenaud at the marquee event.

“The only experience I had with a V8 touring car was a single test I did in Brazil with the Stock Cars that they run there,” the KV Lotus driver said as part of the announcement.

“So I don’t think that counts as any help, so I’m looking forward to getting to Australia after the IndyCar season finale to get behind the wheel of the V8 Supercar.”

The announcement of Kanaan’s signing means that there is just a single vacancy left in this year’s field, with the identity of Jonathon Webb’s driving partner still being unknown.

So far, the (updated) provisional entry list reads as follows:

Team Driver Co-Driver  
1. Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney Dan Wheldon GBR
2. Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe AUS
3. Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA
4. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Alex Davison Marc Lieb DEU
9. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Scott Dixon NZL
47. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade Helio Castroneves BRZ
5. Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power AUS
6. Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Mika Salo FIN
55. Rod Nash / FPR Ford Paul Dumbrell Christian Klien AUT
7. Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Jörg Bergmeister DEU
11. Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Oliver Gavin GBR
15. Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Richard Westbrook GBR
16. Kelly Racing Holden David Reynolds Alex Tagliani CDN
8. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin FRA
14. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bargwanna Tony Kanaan BRZ
21. Britek / Brad Jones Racing Holden Karl Reindler Fabrizio Giovanardi ITA
12. Triple F Racing Ford Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli ITA
17. Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Joey Hand USA
18. Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Dirk Müller DEU
19. Tekno Autosports Ford Jonathon Webb TBA  
30. Lucas Dumbrell Holden Warren Luff Marino Franchitti GBR
33. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Lee Holdsworth Augusto Farfus BRZ
34. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Simon Pagenaud FRA
39. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Russell Ingall Jan Magnussen DEN
49. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Steve Owen Boris Said USA
61. Walkinsaw Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Patrick Long USA
88. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Jamie Whincup Andy Priaulx GBR
888. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Craig Lowndes Sebastien Bourdais FRA

[Images via Flickr and LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.