Dario Franchitti romped to pole position at New Hampshire

Dario Franchitti has claimed his second pole position of the 2011 IndyCar season with a dominant display during qualifying for the MoveThatBlock Indy 225 at New Hampshire.

The championship leader used his qualifying allotment – late in the one-hour session – to post a two-lap average speed over 170mph, a full 1mph faster than second-quickest driver Oriol Servià managed.

The Scot looks set to extend his championship points’ advantage over main rival Will Power, who could only qualify 13th-fastest, having unluckily drawn the allotment of being the first driver out on track to attempt to post a time.

Servià’s strong oval racing form continued on what was an excellent day for Newman/Haas, with his rookie team-mate James Hinchcliffe qualifying fourth-fastest. The Canadian rookie was denied he third-quickest time by Tony Kanaan, who set his time early in the session.

The third row of the grid is occupied by Ryan Hunter-Reay – undoubtedly the most consistent qualifier in the Andretti stable – and Ryan Briscoe, who was Penske’s best representative.

The top-ten was completed by Mid-Ohio race-winner Scott Dixon, KV Racing’s Takuma Sato, Hélio Castroneves in the third Penske and Chip Ganassi’s Charlie Kimball.

IndyCar returnee Tomas Scheckter qualified 18th-fastest, while Graham Rahal was the biggest loser in the session, losing crucial momentum for the start of his flying laps when he had a wild moment on his warm-up lap. His Ganassi entry stepped out at the back while he piloted through Turn 3, and the 22-year-old is now facing a busy race day as he tries to climb up the order from 23rd on the grid.

Pippa Mann failed to post a time, with her session being spent in hospital to investigate an injury to her left foot. She is unlikely to make the start of the race.



2011 MoveThatBlock.com Indy 225 (New Hampshire) Qualifying Results:

Driver Team Time Speed
1. Dario Franchitti GBR Target Chip Ganassi Racing 43.1976 170.843
2. Oriol Servià ESP Newman/Haas Racing 43.4549 169.831
3. Tony Kanaan BRZ KV Racing Technology Lotus 43.4890 169.698
4. James Hinchcliffe CDN Newman/Haas Racing 43.5168 169.590
5. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport 43.5219 169.570
6. Ryan Briscoe AUS Team Penske 43.5524 169.451
7. Scott Dixon NZL Target Chip Ganassi Racing 43.6391 169.114
8. Takuma Sato JPN KV Racing Technology Lotus 43.6573 169.004
9. Hélio Castroneves BRZ Team Penske 43.6981 168.886
10. Charlie Kimball USA Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing 43.8155 168.434
11. JR Hildebrand USA Panther Racing 43.9164 168.047
12. Mike Conway GBR Andretti Autosport 43.9672 167.852
13. Will Power AUS Team Penske 44.1886 167.011
14. Alex Lloyd GBR Dale Coyne Racing 44.2242 166.877
15. Danica Patrick USA Andretti Autosport 44.2356 166.834
16. Alex Tagliani CDN Sam Schmidt Motorsports 44.2421 166.809
17. EJ Viso VEN KV Racing Technology Lotus 44.3148 166.536
18. Tomas Scheckter RSA Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 44.3561 166.381
19. Vitor Meira BRZ AJ Foyt Enterprises 44.3901 166.253
20. James Jakes GBR Dale Coyne Racing 44.6556 165.265
21. Ana Beatriz BRZ Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 44.7387 164.958
22. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport 44.8027 164.722
23. Graham Rahal USA Service Central Chip Ganassi 45.0505 163.816
24. Sebastian Saavedra COL Conquest Racing 45.4755 162.285
25. Ed Carpenter USA Sarah Fisher Racing 45.6304 161.734
26. Simona de Silvestro SUI HVM Racing 46.8758 157.437
DNQ. Pippa Mann GBR Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan no time  

[Images via IZOD IndyCar Series]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.