Craig Lowndes secured his third pole position on the trot

Craig Lowndes’ resurgent weekend continued into the second day of racing at the Coates Hire Ipswich 300 at Queensland Raceway, with the Triple 8 Holden driver securing pole position ahead of today’s final longer-distance race.

Lowndes had already secured pole and back-to-back wins in yesterday’s two sprint races, and he’s now in the best possible place to take a clean sweep this weekend.

It was a great qualifying session for the Vodafone-backed team, with team-mate and championship leader Jamie Whincup locking out the front row, missing out on the top spot by just over one-tenth of a second.

Starting from third is yesterday’s podium finisher Tim Slade in the Stone Brothers-run Ford, with the youngster snaring the spot ahead of Brad Jones Racing’s Jason Bright and his own team-mate Shane van Gisbergen.

David Reynolds, Steve Johnson, Fabian Coulthard, Russell Ingall and Will Davison completed the top ten.

The Holden Racing Team’s nightmare weekend continued into Sunday, with Garth Tander and James Courtney enduring another shocker. The pair will start from 19th and 22nd respectively, and they have a lot to do to work their way to the pointy end of the field in today’s 65-lap race.

Some heavy showers had created a slippery surface for today’s qualifying session, although the session itself remained dry. More showers are forecast to hit the area in time for the afternoon’s race.


V8 Supercars Coates Hire Ipswich 300 Qualifying Results (Race 3):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.5725
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.7248
3. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.7612
4. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:09.8593
5. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.8689
6. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing 1:09.9302
7. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.9486
8. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing / Walkinsaw Racing 1:10.0030
9. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport 1:10.0108
10. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:10.0328
11. James Moffatt Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:10.0732
12. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:10.1047
13. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno 1:10.1287
14. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport 1:10.1638
15. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:10.1831
16. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing 1:10.1894
17. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:10.2325
18. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing 1:10.2648
19. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:10.2726
20. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:10.2986
21. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:10.3013
22. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:10.3481
23. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:10.3520
24. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:10.3552
25. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:10.4006
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing 1:10.4099
27. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:10.4197
28. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil / Lucas Dumbrell 1:10.4985

[Image and video via V8 Supercars Media]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.