Mark Webber was the fastest driver in second free practice

Mark Webber took advantage of a momentary period of dry weather to post the fastest lap of the second free practice session for the Belgian Grand Prix, with the day’s afternoon session again impacted by more wet weather.

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso finished one-tenth slower in second place, while the two McLarens and his team-mate Felipe Massa were not far behind, all posting their best laps on the softer Pirelli tyre.

It was typically fickle Belgian weather that once again greeted the drivers when the day’s second ninety-minute session got underway.

When the limited opportunity for dry-weather running came about, almost all drivers switched to the softer Pirelli tyre, while the likes of Sebastian Vettel (11th), Jaime Alguersuari (14th), Sébastien Buemi (15th) and Heikki Kovalainen (20th) opted for the slower, harder compound tyre.

Shortly after Webber posted the session’s best time, the heavens opened once again to send the field scurrying back to pit lane. With teams being given few wet-weather tyre compounds with which to perform any meaningful running, almost everyone remained indoors.

Vitaly Petrov was mired at the bottom of the timesheets after being sidelined with a steering issue.


2011 Belgian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 1:50.321 22
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.140 18
3. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.449 9
4. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.517 9
5. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.897 14
6. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 0.921 22
7. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 1.334 20
8. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.404 17
9. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.430 8
10. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 1.469 13
11. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.601 22
12. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.429 20
13. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.459 25
14. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.590 24
15. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.688 24
16. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.835 17
17. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 3.514 20
18. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 4.730 20
19. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 5.173 22
20. Heikki Kovalainen IND Lotus Renault T128 + 5.881 15
21. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.495 20
22. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.129 19
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.291 24
24. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 11.913 12

[Image via Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.

Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)