Di Grassi will partner V8 Supercars' Jonathan Webb for the Gold Coast 600

Former F1 driver Lucas di Grassi is the final international driver to be announced in the all-star line-up competing at this year’s running of the ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 at Surfers Paradise, with the former Virgin Racing driver becoming the eighth driver from the championship (either past or present) to enter the event.

Lucas di GrassiDi Grassi took to Twitter to confirm he will partner Jonathan Webb in his Tekno Autosports (Mother Energy Racing) Ford Falcon on the street circuit, with the event running between October 21-23.

Since making his F1 debut with Virgin Racing last year, di Grassi has acted as Pirelli’s tyre development test driver this year, while competing in the occasional circuit race.

He joins fellow former F1 drivers Mika Salo, Jan Magnussen, Sebastien Bourdais, Christian Klien, Gianni Morbidelli and Stephane Sarrazin – as well as HRT driver Vitantonio Liuzzi – at the event, which pairs international category drivers alongside the series’ regulars in the two-race event.

Di Grassi will also join three of his countrymen at the festival, including IndyCar runners Helio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan, as well as former World Touring Car Championship driver Augusto Farfus.

“It’s a real privilege to be asked to join the high calibre of drivers taking part at this year’s event. It’s sure to be a special meeting and I can’t wait to take on the Surfers Paradise track,” di Grassi has said of the announcement.


With all driver pairings now confirmed, the provisional entry list reads as follows:

Team Driver Co-Driver  
1. Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney Dan Wheldon GBR
2. Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe AUS
3. Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA
4. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Alex Davison Marc Lieb DEU
9. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Scott Dixon NZL
47. Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade Helio Castroneves BRZ
5. Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power AUS
6. Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Mika Salo FIN
55. Rod Nash / FPR Ford Paul Dumbrell Christian Klien AUT
7. Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Jörg Bergmeister DEU
11. Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Oliver Gavin GBR
15. Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Richard Westbrook GBR
16. Kelly Racing Holden David Reynolds Alex Tagliani CDN
8. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin FRA
14. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bargwanna Tony Kanaan BRZ
21. Britek / Brad Jones Racing Holden Karl Reindler Fabrizio Giovanardi ITA
12. Triple F Racing Ford Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli ITA
17. Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Joey Hand USA
18. Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Dirk Müller DEU
19. Tekno Autosports Ford Jonathon Webb Lucas di Grassi BRZ
30. Lucas Dumbrell Holden Warren Luff Marino Franchitti GBR
33. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Lee Holdsworth Augusto Farfus BRZ
34. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Simon Pagenaud FRA
39. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Russell Ingall Jan Magnussen DEN
49. Paul Morris Motorsport Holden Steve Owen Boris Said USA
61. Walkinsaw Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Patrick Long USA
88. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Jamie Whincup Andy Priaulx GBR
888. Triple 8 Race Engineering Holden Craig Lowndes Sebastien Bourdais FRA

[Images via Flickr and LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.