Sebastian Vettel edged out Lewis Hamilton for top honours in FP2

Sebastian Vettel has edged out McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton for top honours in the second practice session for the Italian Grand Prix at Monza, although the Red Bull Racing driver was unable to better the fastest lap time posted by Hamilton in the morning’s first practice session.

After a quiet morning’s running, Vettel clocked a total of 34 laps around the five-kilometre circuit, finishing with a session-topping lap-time of 1:24.010, to outpace Hamilton by just three-hundredths of a second.

Hamilton had looked set to take top honours on his final flying lap, but the McLaren driver hit traffic on his final flying lap and had to settle for second-fastest. The pair finished ahead of Michael Schumacher, whose Mercedes GP showed excellent pace with the German clocking the third-fastest time in the session.

The Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso showed improved pace on the ever-warming track surface with the fourth- and fifth-fastest times, while Mark Webber was sixth-fastest, just four-hundredths of a second quicker than Jenson Button’s McLaren.

The session’s one major incident occurred when Sébastien Buemi ran wide at Parabolica, which sent his Toro Rosso skating across the kitty litter and crashing heavily into the tyre barriers. The Swiss driver’s car was too damaged for him to continue.

The other runner to suffer a lack of mileage was Daniel Ricciardo, who HRT was cooped up in the team garages for much of the 90-minute session while various technical gremlins were being tended to. The Australian finished slowest overall, although still improved his lap-time from the morning session by close to two seconds.



2011 Italian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 1:24.010 37
2. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.036 21
3. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 0.337 39
4. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.356 33
5. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.423 31
6. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.458 32
7. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.498 30
8. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 1.087 39
9. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 1.172 37
10. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 1.315 38
11. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 1.440 31
12. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.486 39
13. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.673 37
14. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 1.748 29
15. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.192 36
16. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.343 40
17. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 4.337 5
18. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 4.549 32
19. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 4.595 32
20. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 4.794 25
21. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 5.172 34
22. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 5.174 29
23. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 5.612 34
24. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 5.831 7

[Image via, LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.