Sebastian Vettel was fastest in Friday's second practice session at Singapore

Sebastian Vettel has vaulted to the top of the timesheets in the second free practice session for the Singapore Grand Prix, with the German clocking a time two-tenths of a second faster than Fernando Alonso.

Despite their solid pace in the first session, McLaren had a more troubled time in this practice session. Lewis Hamilton lost some running after he ran over a kerb and damaged the underside of his car, while Jenson Button had to park his car after he took a trip up an escape road.

Button’s was one of several incidents in what was a session full of driver errors. Sébastien Buemi knocked his front suspension askew when he hit the wall in his Toro Rosso, while the likes of Felipe Massa and Michael Schumacher also had brushes with the walls, but managed to avoid any damage to their cars.

Felipe Massa escapes after a brush with the wall Kobayashi gets plenty of air over the kerbs Buemi ended his running after hitting the wall

Up front, Lewis Hamilton wound up third-quickest despite his misadventures, while Massa was fourth-fastest ahead of Mark Webber.

Michael Schumacher was an encouraging sixth-fastest, with Adrian Sutil, Sergio Pérez, Kamui Kobayashi and Jenson Button (despite his loss of track time) completing the top ten.


2011 Singapore Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 1:46.374 33
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.201 28
3. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.741 22
4. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.746 23
5. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.891 28
6. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 2.044 27
7. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 2.492 32
8. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 3.204 27
9. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 3.356 29
10. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 3.377 10
11. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 3.418 14
12. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 3.867 31
13. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 3.971 8
14. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 4.025 29
15. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 4.416 28
16. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 4.523 24
17. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 4.563 30
18. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 5.576 26
19. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 5.883 15
20. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 6.115 25
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 7.205 25
22. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 8.275 25
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 8.380 29
24. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 8.824 26

[Image via FOM and Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.