Mark Webber was fastest in final practice for the Singapore Grand Prix

Mark Webber has posted the fastest time in the third and final practice session, ahead of tonight’s qualifying for the Singapore Grand Prix. The Australian outpaced Jenson Button and championship leader Sebastian Vettel during the one-hour session.

Button recovered from his Friday practice spin to go second-fastest, while Vettel’s true pace was perhaps masked when he came across traffic on each of his final flying laps as he attempted to wrest top spot on the timesheets from his team-mate.

Two-time Singapore winner Fernando Alonso finished the session fourth-fastest, while Lewis Hamilton finished half-a-second off the Spaniard’s best time to be fifth-fastest. Hamilton again had a trip over the circuit’s vicious kerbing, damaging the floor of his McLaren for the second time this weekend.

Almost a second further behind were the two Mercedes runners of Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher, who finished just six-thousandths of a second apart on the timing screens, while Felipe Massa had a quiet run to eighth-fastest in the second Ferrari.

With Renault’s Singapore struggles still continuing, this weekend presents Force India and Sauber with an opportunity to claim a healthy dose of points in tomorrow’s race – both teams were comfortably in the top half of the running and will provide fans with an entertaining scrap as they duke out sixth place in the Constructors’ Championship standings.

Aside from some near-misses with the walls and a few drivers getting some airtime when they clattered over the track’s high kerbing, it was a generally incident-free session.



2011 Singapore Grand Prix – Free Practice 3 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 1:46.081 15
2. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.027 17
3. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.264 14
4. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.315 14
5. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.855 20
6. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.750 14
7. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.756 12
8. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 2.630 12
9. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.976 15
10. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 3.223 16
11. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 3.502 17
12. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 3.598 18
13. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 3.735 18
14. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.770 17
15. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 4.108 15
16. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 4.148 15
17. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 4.422 14
18. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 4.466 17
19. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 6.429 17
20. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.616 19
21. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.647 17
22. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 7.742 18
23. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 7.748 16
24. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 9.122 17

[Image via Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.