Lewis Hamilton led a McLaren 1-2 in second practice for the Korean Grand Prix

McLaren has enjoyed a clean sweep in second practice for the Korean Grand Prix, with Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button comfortably out-pacing their nearest rivals by almost two seconds.

The afternoon’s session gave the drivers and teams no let-up in the wet conditions, but Hamilton and Webber showed great control on the slippery surface to claim a team 1-2.

Despite the weather conditions being little different to what had been experienced in the morning, it was a positively busy session, with cars pouring onto the tarmac as soon as the pit lane opened for business.

After the Red Bull pairing of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber had posted some early lap times to move to the top of the timing screens, the McLaren set to work and quickly lowered the benchmark time.

Half an hour into the session, and Hamilton’s time of 1:50.828 would remain unchallenged for the remained of the day’s running. Button mounted a late charge, narrowly missing out on claiming top honours by just 0.1 seconds.

Later on, Fernando Alonso would move his Ferrari into third place (almost two seconds adrift of Hamilton’s outright pace), only to be beaten by Vettel, who only managed a fractionally quicker time, two spots ahead of team-mate Mark Webber.

Rosberg hits Alguersuari at the exit of the pit lane! Despite having surrendered his seat to the team’s new Friday rookie, Jaime Alguersuari took his Toro Rosso sixth-fastest, only to find himself involved in an unusual collision with Nico Rosberg, being harpooned by the Mercedes driver who ran wide exiting Turn 1 as Alguersuari was emerging from the pits.

Rosberg was later issued with a €10,000 fine (€5,000 of which was suspended) by the FIA Stewards, not for causing the incident, but for dawdling en route to their offices when summoned to see them at the end of the session.



2011 Korean Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 1:50.828 26
2. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.104 19
3. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 1.818 30
4. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 1.946 25
5. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 2.221 27
6. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.574 25
7. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 2.879 24
8. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 3.086 18
9. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 3.120 27
10. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 3.129 32
11. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 3.372 26
12. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 3.564 26
13. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 4.003 30
14. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 4.137 21
15. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 4.359 28
16. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 4.375 24
17. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 4.716 23
18. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 5.239 22
19. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 5.841 20
20. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 6.345 19
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 7.441 25
22. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 8.630 26
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 9.130 19
24. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 9.337 20

[Image via FOM and Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.