Several drivers were upset at being held up in FP3

Jenson Button has staked his claim for pole position by going quickest in the final practice session for the Korean Grand Prix. Button’s cause was helped by his two main rivals for top honours, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel, both being badly held up on their final flying laps.

Hamilton was blocked in no uncertain terms by Michael Schumacher, while a frustrated Vettel had his hot-lap effort ruined by Jaime Alguersuari in the sister Toro Rosso. Neither man was particularly happy at having their laps screwed by slower cars…

Having switched to the team’s spare chassis overnight, Button came out strong and moved to the top of the timesheets with just over 20 minutes of the one-hour session to go, posting a rapid 1:38.005.

Team-mate Hamilton quickly lowered the benchmark into the low-1m37s range before Button fired back, posting a 1:36.910 on his final flying lap to beat Hamilton by 0.289 seconds.

Mark Webber was a distant third-fastest, almost a second adrift of the McLarens’ ultimate pace, followed by the Ferraris of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa in fourth and fifth.

Sixth-fastest went to the wayward Schumacher, who suffered several brake lock-ups during the session, while the top-ten was completed by Vitaly Petrov, Adrian Sutil, Sebastian Vettel and Nico Rosberg.

Aside from the bad track manners of Schumacher and Alguersuari, the session was generally incident-free, with a few drivers exploring the circuit’s limits in their one and only opportunity to get some dry-weather practice mileage after yesterday’s heavy rain.

Bruno Senna celebrated his 28th birthday with a spin Daniel Ricciardo was forced to park his HRT towards the end of the session when he suffered a water leak.

Birthday boy Bruno Senna provided the only major moment of note, spinning his Renault at Turn 13 and damaging his front wing when he attempted to turn his car back in the right direction.



2011 Korean Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 1:36.910 18
2. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.289 18
3. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.813 23
4. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 1.119 21
5. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 1.524 18
6. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 2.649 23
7. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 2.702 20
8. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 2.750 22
9. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 2.785 22
10. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 2.833 25
11. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 2.937 22
12. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.941 20
13. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 3.054 21
14. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 3.095 17
15. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 3.120 18
16. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 3.541 19
17. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.619 20
18. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.801 22
19. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 4.999 18
20. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 5.035 13
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.365 19
22. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 7.467 16
23. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.511 22
24. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 8.233 21

[Images via FOM]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.