Winners are ginners: Whincup and Bourdais celebrate their Surfers Paradise win

Jamie Whincup and co-driver Sebastien Bourdais have claimed victory in the opening race of the ArmorAll 600 round on the Gold Coast.

After securing pole position in this morning’s qualifying session, the pair claimed a comfortable victory – on the back of an excellent opening stint by Bourdais – to ensure Whincup reclaimed the lead in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

With the rules dictating that teams had to run one member of their driver pairings for a minimum of 34 laps of the race, all of the teams elected to start with the guest drivers behind the wheel.

And when the racing got underway, Bourdais quickly disappeared into an early lead, which he built to over 10 seconds by the time he peeled into the pits on the 35th lap. Whincup emerged from his pit stop still effectively in the lead, but his advantage was twice whittled down courtesy of two Safety Car appearances. Nonetheless, Whincup kept his cool, and took his fifth Surfers Paradise win by just over two seconds.

The Team Vodafone pair’s main challenge came from the Ford Performance Racing duo of Will Davison and Mika Salo, while the sister FPR of Mark Winterbottom and Richard Lyons finished third, after the pair staged a hard-charging drive from 17th on the grid.Davison and Winterbottom claimed podium finishes for FPR

Greg Murphy and co-driver Oliver Gavin were headed for fourth place in their Kelly Racing Holden, but Kelly lost two places on the final lap, with the Dick Johnson Ford of Alan Moffat / Joey Hand claiming fourth, followed by the Walkinshaw Racing Holden of Fabian Coulthard and Patrick Long, who drove an impressive opening stint.

But it was a disastrous race for the #888 Triple 8 Holden of Craig Lowndes and co-driver Andy Priaulx, with the pair having lost out on the opportunity to post a better qualifying time when their car was grounded with an electrical problem.

Despite attention from the team’s mechanics after qualifying, the problem still hadn’t solved itself, as Priaulx stopped twice on his installation lap before they elected to start from the pit lane. The pair eventually got their race going some 20 laps into the race itself – Priaulx posting several fastest laps before Lowndes took over – but their run was ended with a punctured radiator.

Tomorrow’s second race will be preceded by another 30-minute qualifying session.


V8 Supercars 2011 ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Race 1 Final Standings (100 laps):

Driver Team Laps Result
1. J. Whincup / S. Bourdais Holden Triple 8 Race Engineering 100 2:13:21.5515
2. W. Davison / M. Salo Ford Ford Performance Racing 100 + 2.1902
3. M. Winterbottom / R. Lyons Ford Ford Performance Racing 100 + 2.4683
4. J. Moffat / J. Hand Ford Dick Johnson Racing 100 + 2.7719
5. F. Coulthard / P. Long Holden Walkinshaw Racing 100 + 5.8433
6. G. Murphy / O. Gavin Holden Kelly Racing 100 + 7.1366
7. R. Kelly / J. Bergmeister Holden Kelly Racing 100 + 12.4330
8. M. Caruso / A. Farfus Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 100 + 13.6039
9. J. Webb / G. De Ferran Ford Tekno Autosports 100 + 15.0193
10. L. Holdsworth / S. Pagenaud Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 100 + 16.8085
11. G. Tander / R. Briscoe Holden Holden Racing Team 100 + 16.8226
12. T. Slade / H. Castroneves Ford Stone Brothers Racing 100 + 17.0690
13. T. Kelly / R. Westbrook Holden Kelly Racing 100 + 17.4326
14. J. Courtney / D. Turner Holden Holden Racing Team 100 + 20.6768
15. P. Dumbrell / C. Klien Ford Rod Nash / FPR 100 + 22.0608
16. S. van Gisbergen / E. Pirro Ford Stone Brothers Racing 100 + 23.8801
17. J. Bargwanna / A. Simonsen Holden Brad Jones Racing 100 + 25.8878
18. S. Owen / B. Said Holden Paul Morris Motorsport 100 + 28.9258
19. D. Reynolds / A. Tagliani Holden Kelly Racing 98 2 laps behind
20. D. Fiore / G. Morbidelli Ford Triple F Racing 98 2 laps behind
21. J. Bright / S. Sarrazin Holden Brad Jones Racing 97 3 laps behind
22. R. Ingall / J. Magnussen Holden Paul Morris Motorsport 95 5 laps behind
23. A. Davison / M. Lieb Ford Stone Brothers Racing 76 24 laps behind
DNF. T/ D’Alberto / V. Liuzzi Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 75 Steering
DNF. C. Lowndes / A. Priaulx Holden Triple 8 Race Engineering 52 Radiator
DNF. S. Johnson / D. Müller Ford Dick Johnson Racing 24 Accident
DNF. W. Luff / M. Franchitti Holden Lucas Dumbrell 14 Collision
DNS. K. Reindler / F. Giovanardi Holden Britek / Brad Jones Racing   did not start

 [Image via V8 Supercars]


Get ready to buy your copy of SENNA on DVD or BluRay!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.