Jamie Whincup has secured pole position for the opening race of the ArmorAll 600

Jamie Whincup and co-driver Sebastien Bourdais will start from pole position for today’s opening 300-kilometre race at the ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 at Surfers Paradise.

And Whincup will certainly be smiling from underneath his helmet, with his main championship rival, team-mate Craig Lowndes, qualifying a lowly 15th after he was caught out by the rain showers that hit the circuit during the first qualifying session.

With the regular V8 Supercars drivers doing the honours in qualifying today, Whincup timed his qualifying run well enough to secure a berth in the subsequent one-lap shootout for the ten fastest qualifiers, and then registered a rapid 1:11.7184 to claim pole by just 0.0015 seconds from Garth Tander.

Tander (co-driving with IndyCar driver Ryan Briscoe) came close to deposing Whincup on his sole shootout lap.

Ford Performance Racing driver Will Davison held provisional pole until he was overtaken by Whincup; he and co-driver Mika Salo will start from third place.

Steve Owen claimed a strong fourth place in his Paul Morris Motorsport Holden, while the top-six was completed by Alex Davison (Stone Brothers Ford) and V8 Supercars rookie James Moffat (Dick Johnson Ford).

Unexpected showers hit the circuit during the opening qualifying session, which ruined the hopes of any driver who’d failed to get in and post an early lap-time, and Lowndes – sharing his car with three-time WTCC champion Andy Priaulx – was the highest-profile victim after his Holden was hit by an ignition problem on his installation lap.


V8 Supercars 2011 ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Qualifying Results:

Driver Team Q1 Time Top-10
1. J. Whincup / S. Bourdais Holden Triple 8 Race Engineering 1:11.8651 1:11.7184
2. G. Tander / R. Briscoe Holden Holden Racing Team 1:11.7238 1:11.7199
3. W. Davison / M. Salo Ford Ford Performance Racing 1:12.1187 1:12.0516
4. S. Owen / B. Said Holden Paul Morris Motorsport 1:11.7909 1:12.0756
5. A. Davison / M. Lieb Ford Stone Brothers Racing 1:11.9228 1:12.2168
6. J. Moffat / J. Hand Ford Dick Johnson Racing 1:12.4146 1:12.2169
7. L. Holdsworth / S. Pagenaud Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:11.9527 1:12.2625
8. R. Kelly / J. Bergmeister Holden Kelly Racing 1:12.2888 1:12.4015
9. S. van Gisbergen / E. Pirro Ford Stone Brothers Racing 1:12.2082 1:12.4293
10. J. Courtney / D. Turner Holden Holden Racing Team 1:12.0940 1:12.5161
11. F. Coulthard / P. Long Holden Walkinshaw Racing 1:12.4327  
12. D. Reynolds / A. Tagliani Holden Kelly Racing 1:12.4927  
13. R. Ingall / J. Magnussen Holden Paul Morris Motorsport 1:12.5084  
14. M. Caruso / A. Farfus Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:12.5576  
15. C. Lowndes / A. Priaulx Holden Triple 8 Race Engineering 1:12.6454  
16. J. Webb / G. De Ferran Ford Tekno Autosports 1:12.8150  
17. M. Winterbottom / R. Lyons Ford Ford Performance Racing 1:12.8154  
18. G. Murphy / O. Gavin Holden Kelly Racing 1:12.9056  
19. W. Luff / M. Franchitti Holden Lucas Dumbrell 1:12.9841  
20. S. Johnson / D. Müller Ford Dick Johnson Racing 1:13.0016  
21. K. Reindler / F. Giovanardi Holden Britek / Brad Jones Racing 1:13.4378  
22. T. Kelly / R. Westbrook Holden Kelly Racing 1:13.5354  
23. P. Dumbrell / C. Klien Ford Rod Nash / FPR 1:13.5363  
24. T. Slade / H. Castroneves Ford Stone Brothers Racing 1:13.5540  
25. T/ D’Alberto / V. Liuzzi Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:13.6604  
26. J. Bargwanna / A. Simonsen Holden Brad Jones Racing 1:13.8961  
27. D. Fiore / G. Morbidelli Ford Triple F Racing 1:14.0163  
28. J. Bright / S. Sarrazin Holden Brad Jones Racing 1:17.0165  

 [Image via V8 Supercars]


Get ready to buy your copy of SENNA on DVD or BluRay!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.