Jamie Whincup has claimed back-to-back pole positions at Surfers Paradise

Jamie Whincup and co-driver Sébastien Bourdais have secured a clean sweep in qualifying for this weekend’s V8 Supercars Armor All 600 on the Gold Coast, with the pair claiming pole position for today’s final 300-kilometre race.

After the pair took a seemingly comfortable victory at yesterday’s opening race to ensure Whincup reclaimed the championship lead from Triple 8 Engineering team-mate Craig Lowndes, Whincup muscled his Holden Commodore around the Surfers Paradise street circuit in record time.

He became the first driver ever to lap the circuit in less than 1m11s, posting a rapid 1:10.961 on his final flying lap as the thirty-minute session drew to a close.

Whincup snatched top spot from provisional pole-sitter Garth Tander (HRT Holden), who enjoys the best record of any driver at this venue, with seven race wins to his credit.

The Ford Performance Racing duo of Mark Winterbottom / Richard Lyons and Will Davison / Mika Salo locked out the second row of the grid; the pairings finished third and second (respectively) in yesterday’s race.

After enduring a disastrous day yesterday, Craig Lowndes will be hoping he and co-driver Andy Priaulx can have a better Sunday; the pair qualified the sister Triple 8 Holden fifth-fastest, ahead of Steve Owen (Paul Morris Motorsport Holden).

In a frantic session that was all about getting clear air to attempt a decent lap-time, the top-ten was covered by just half a second. It was completed by Greg Murphy (Kelly Racing Holden), Lee Holdsworth (Garry Rogers Holden), James Moffat (Dick Johnson Ford) and David Reynolds (Kelly Racing Holden).

One notable driver to struggle in qualifying was James Courtney (HRT Holden), who only managed 23rd after the grid, struggling with a mechanical issue.


V8 Supercars 2011 ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Race 2 Qualifying Results:

Driver Team Time
1. J. Whincup / S. Bourdais Holden Triple 8 Race Engineering 1:10.9615
2. G. Tander / R. Briscoe Holden Holden Racing Team 1:11:0039
3. M. Winterbottom / R. Lyons Ford Ford Performance Racing 1:11:1308
4. W. Davison / M. Salo Ford Ford Performance Racing 1:11:2799
5. C. Lowndes / A. Priaulx Holden Triple 8 Race Engineering 1:11:2923
6. S. Owen / B. Said Holden Paul Morris Motorsport 1:11:3174
7. G. Murphy / O. Gavin Holden Kelly Racing 1:11:3727
8. L. Holdsworth / S. Pagenaud Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:11:3868
9. J. Moffat / J. Hand Ford Dick Johnson Racing 1:11:4355
10. D. Reynolds / A. Tagliani Holden Kelly Racing 1:11:4640
11. M. Caruso / A. Farfus Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:11:4956
12. A. Davison / M. Lieb Ford Stone Brothers Racing 1:11:5216
13. P. Dumbrell / C. Klien Ford Rod Nash / FPR 1:11:5628
14. R. Kelly / J. Bergmeister Holden Kelly Racing 1:11:5643
15. F. Coulthard / P. Long Holden Walkinshaw Racing 1:11:5780
16. R. Ingall / J. Magnussen Holden Paul Morris Motorsport 1:11:6121
17. T. Kelly / R. Westbrook Holden Kelly Racing 1:11:6213
18. S. van Gisbergen / E. Pirro Ford Stone Brothers Racing 1:11:6561
19. J. Webb / G. De Ferran Ford Tekno Autosports 1:11:6963
20. T/ D’Alberto / V. Liuzzi Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:11:7003
21. S. Johnson / D. Müller Ford Dick Johnson Racing 1:11:7592
22. T. Slade / H. Castroneves Ford Stone Brothers Racing 1:11:8357
23. J. Courtney / D. Turner Holden Holden Racing Team 1:11:8466
24. J. Bargwanna / A. Simonsen Holden Brad Jones Racing 1:11:9921
25. J. Bright / S. Sarrazin Holden Brad Jones Racing 1:12:1766
26. D. Fiore / G. Morbidelli Ford Triple F Racing 1:12:3196
27. W. Luff / M. Franchitti Holden Lucas Dumbrell 1:12:4946
28. K. Reindler / F. Giovanardi Holden Britek / Brad Jones Racing 1:12:6402

 [Image and video via V8 Supercars]


Get ready to buy your copy of SENNA on DVD or BluRay!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.