Felipe Massa was fastest in second practice for the Indian Grand Prix

Felipe Massa has enjoyed a rare visit to the top of the practice timesheets by ending today’s second 90-minute session as the fastest driver. The Brazilian outpaced Red Bull Racing champion Sebastian Vettel by less than a tenth of a second, while Ferrari team-mate Fernando Alonso was third-fastest.

Running a new front wing on his Ferrari – which seemed to produce spectacular sparks when it struck the track’s surface – Massa pipped Vettel into top spot with just under twenty minutes of the session remaining.

The McLaren pairing of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button rounded out the top six, sandwiching Mark Webber’s Red Bull.

With the morning’s session having generally fewer incidents, several drivers had off-track moments as they explored the track’s limits. Jérôme d’Ambrosio hit the wall at Turn 11 and damaged his Virgin Racing entry, while Pastor Maldonado had a spin at Turn 9.

Outside the top-three teams, Force India’s Adrian Sutil finished seventh to claim ‘best of the rest’ honours. The German was followed by Bruno Senna, Paul di Resta and Sébastien Buemi.

Well down the order – after finishing this morning’s practice session fifth- and sixth-fastest – was Mercedes GP, with Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher mired in 19th and 21st places, respectively. It is generally believed that the silver cars were running with very high fuel loads and they were not chasing a session-beating lap-time.



2011 Indian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia 1:25.706 33
2. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.088 34
3. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.224 34
4. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.748 26
5. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.794 30
6. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 1.008 28
7. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.610 34
8. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 1.792 36
9. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 2.147 35
10. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.162 35
11. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 2.184 37
12. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.344 34
13. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.583 36
14. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.846 31
15. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.985 29
16. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.002 24
17. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 3.626 39
18. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 4.535 41
19. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 5.392 38
20. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 5.763 32
21. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 6.098 28
22. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.887 12
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.068 33
24. Narain Karthikeyan IND HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 7.118 33

[Image via LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.