Who starts from where for the Indian Grand Prix?

Not since the 2009 Japanese Grand Prix have we seen so many drivers awarded grid penalties ahead of the same race, and the FIA Stewards were kept busy working through the rule book to confirm the exact grid line-up for today’s 60-lap Indian Grand Prix.

The three-place grid penalties awarded to Lewis Hamilton and Sergio Pérez (for ignoring yellow flags in practice) see them dropped to fifth and twentieth on the grid respectively.

Vitaly Petrov’s five-place penalty from last fortnight’s Korean Grand Prix (earned as a result of his collision with Michael Schumacher) means the Russian will start his Renault from 16th.

Both HRT drivers received five-place grid drops, but Daniel Ricciardo (22nd) and Narain Karthikeyan (23rd) technically only lost one place apiece, as the rules dictate that Timo Glock – as a result of qualifying outside the 107% cut-off and needing special dispensation to race – will start his race from last place.

The final grid is as follows:

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing) DEU
2. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing) AUS
3. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari ESP
4. Jenson Button (McLaren) GBR
5. Lewis Hamilton* (McLaren) GBR
6. Felipe Massa (Ferrari) BRZ
7. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP DEU
8. Adrian Sutil (Force India) DEU
9. Sébastien Buemi (Toro Rosso) SUI
10. Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso) ESP
11. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes GP) DEU
12. Paul di Resta (Force India) GBR
13. Pastor Maldonado (Williams) VEN
14. Bruno Senna (Renault) BRZ
15. Rubens Barrichello (Williams) BRZ
16. Vitaly Petrov** (Renault) RUS
17. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber) JPN
18. Heikki Kovalainen (Team Lotus) FIN
19. Jarno Trulli (Team Lotus) ITA
20. Sergio Pérez* (Sauber) MEX
21. Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Virgin Racing) BEL
22. Daniel Ricciardo (HRT F1)*** AUS
23. Narain Karthikeyan (HRT F1)**** IND
24. Timo Glock (Virgin Racing) DEU

* Denotes a three-place grid penalty for ignoring yellow flags during the first practice session of the Indian Grand Prix
** Denotes a five-place grid penalty for causing an avoidable accident with Michael Schumacher at the Korean Grand Prix
*** Denotes a five-place grid penalty for performing a gearbox change after the third practice session
**** Denotes five-place grid penalty for impeding another driver during qualifying

[Image via Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.