Hamilton has continued McLaren's domination at Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton has positioned McLaren as a likely candidate to claim pole position, with the Englishman ensuring that the Woking squad has finished quickest at every practice session for this weekend’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The circuit’s maiden pole-sitter went quickest on the circuit, ahead of the Red Bull pairing of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber, while Jenson Button sandwiched the pair in fourth place.

Unlike both of yesterday’s practice sessions, this one-hour session was generally without incident. However, two drivers suffered problems and lost crucial mileage ahead of qualifying: Jarno Trulli failed to post a time courtesy of a gearbox problem, while Rubens Barrichello suffered an oil leak after changing his engine on Friday.

While Ferrari, Mercedes GP and Force India are cleat top-ten contenders, the midfield saw a close scrap for timesheet honours between the Renault, Sauber and Toro Rosso drivers, while Williams look set to be eliminated in Q1, as Pastor Maldonado’s 17th-fastest effort would indicate.

The final minutes of the session saw the most movement on the timesheets, with Mark Webber briefly claiming top honours before Hamilton clocked the first sub-1m39s lap of the weekend, which he improved next time around.



2011 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 1:38.976 17
2. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.427 18
3. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.451 18
4. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.453 16
5. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.685 16
6. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.159 19
7. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 1.207 18
8. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.453 21
9. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.535 19
10. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.962 18
11. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 2.533 21
12. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.551 21
13. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.590 20
14. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 2.618 18
15. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.646 18
16. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.879 18
17. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.079 19
18. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 4.433 22
19. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 4.885 5
20. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.286 23
21. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 6.326 20
22. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 6.533 22
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 6.756 20
24. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 no time 1

[Image via Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.