Jami Whincup extended his championship lead by winning Race 1

V8 Supercars championship leader Jamie Whincup has claimed another win this season, heading home a Holden 1-2-3 at Symmons Plains Raceway to extend his championship lead over Team Vodafone Holden team-mate Craig Lowndes, who finished second.

Having claimed pole position in the day’s earlier qualifying session, Whincup was beaten off the line at the start of today’s 50-lap race by Ford Performance Racing driver Mark Winterbottom.

‘Frosty’ managed fend off Whincup’s advances for the opening ten laps of the race, but eventually succumbed on the eleventh lap.

Whincup remained in control of the race from that point, rebuilding his lead after the green flag conditions were interrupted by a Safety Car, brought upon when Greg Murphy’s (Kelly Racing) Holden shed a wheel.

Winterbottom’s team-mate Will Davison managed to get into second place by electing to only change two tyres during the race’s compulsory pit stop, but running on differently-worn tyres in the second half of the race didn’t pay off, and he dropped behind Lowndes after a long battle.

He then set about trying to keep team-mate Winterbottom at bay for third, but the pair was engrossed in their battle that when Winterbottom eventually did slip by with three laps to go, the pair allowed HRT’s Garth Tander to pounce and make it an all-Holden podium.

Winterbottom, Davison, and Stone Brothers Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen harried Tander to the chequered flag.

Van Gisbergen and fellow second-row starter Paul Dumbrell (Rod Nash / Ford Performance Racing) were two runners whose qualifying pace couldn’t translate into similar results during the race. Dumbrell’s fall down the field to 13th came courtesy of a brake issue, as well as a slip-up after he pit stop when he ran wide at the pit exit, while van Gisbergen lost places when he ran wide on Lap 32.



V8 Supercars Falken Tasmania Challenge Final Classification (Race 1 – 50 laps):

  Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering 45:48.4135
2. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 8.7403
3. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 11.9541
4. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 12.1587
5. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 12.7166
6. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing + 14.3906
7. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 18.2865
8. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg / Walkinshaw Racing + 19.6504
9. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 20.9548
10. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 21.1549
11. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 21.2956
12. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 / Stone Brothers Racing + 21.8249
13. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 24.2846
14. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 24.6304
15. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 26.9067
16. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 26.9895
17. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport + 28.3855
18. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living / Brad Jones Racing + 30.6602
19. Dean Fiore Ford Westrac Racing / Triple F Racing + 31.8740
20. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing + 32.3395
21. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 35.8909
22. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing + 36.1086
23. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing + 37.8933
24. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing + 38.3386
25. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 42.6108
26. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing / Lucas Dumbrell 6 laps behind
DNF. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport 24 laps
DNF. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 22 laps

[Image and video via V8 Supercars]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.