Whincup further extended his title lead with another win at Tasmania

Jamie Whincup has extended his lead in the V8 Supercars championship standings after claiming back-to-back victories in the Falken Tasmania Challenge at Symmons Plains Raceway, securing the win from Ford Performance Racing team-mates Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom.

There was drama before the race began when Brad Jones Holden driver Jason Bright was taken to hospital with a rib injury after qualifying. His place was taken at short notice by Cameron McConville.

After Whincup had qualified third-quickest for today’s 200-kilometre race, the Team Vodafone Holden driver lost a place to Shane van Gisbergen (Stone Brothers Ford) off the line, quickly regaining the spot before the end of the first lap.

He quickly closed down the gap to pole-sitter Paul Dumbrell and his FPR stablemate Mark Winterbottom, who were engaged in an exciting battle for the lead.

Unable to find a way by the pair, Whincup peeled off into the pits on Lap 20, closely followed by Will Davison. In response to his pit stop, Dumbrell and Winterbottom pitted on the next lap, but the out-lap in clear was all Whincup needed to jump the pair. Dumbrell, meanwhile, committed a copycat error from Race 1 by again sliding off the track as he exited the pits, losing the place to Winterbottom in the process.

Davison’s out-lap was also enough to ensure he profited, and he managed to sneak in front of Winterbottom before his team-mate could get his tyres up to temperature, effectively moving from fifth to second in one fell swoop.

Davison was Whincup’s only real threat to victory, lapping right on Whincup’s pace but unable to get much closer than a second behind the series leader. In the end, Whincup had enough in hand to claim victory, Holden’s 400th championship win.

Davison and Winterbottom rounded out the podium ahead of Dumbrell in what was an excellent day for the FPR stable, while Whincup’s team-mate and major championship rival Craig Lowndes charged to finish fifth, after his mistake in qualifying saw him start from fifteenth.

Garth Tander completed the top-six places, ahead of van Gisbergen, Todd Kelly (Kelly Holden), Jonathon Webb (Tekno Ford) and Fabian Coulthard (Walkinshaw Holden).



V8 Supercars Falken Tasmania Challenge Final Classification (Race 2 – 84 laps):

  Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering 1:14:59.5652
2. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 1.7241
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 4.5920
4. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 7 4175
5. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 14.9014
6. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 17.7188
7. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 25.1324
8. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 34.2495
9. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 35.9326
10. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg / Walkinshaw Racing + 43.2272
11. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 45.7391
12. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 46.1641
13. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 46.1671
14. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 46.4310
15. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 53.7891
16. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1 lap behind
17. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport 1 lap behind
18. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing 1 lap behind
19. Cameron McConville Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1 lap behind
20. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing 1 lap behind
21. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing 1 lap behind
22. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing 1 lap behind
23. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport 1 lap behind
24. Dean Fiore Ford Westrac Racing / Triple F Racing 1 lap behind
25. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living / Brad Jones Racing 1 lap behind
26. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing 2 laps behind
27. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 / Stone Brothers Racing 2 laps behind
28. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing / Lucas Dumbrell 5 laps behind

[Image and video via V8 Supercars]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.