Whincup has claimed pole for today's race at Sandown

V8 Supercars championship leader Jame Whincup has bounced back from a troublesome race in the wet yesterday to claim pole position for the final race of the Norton 360 Challenge at Sandown Raceway.

It was his ninth pole position of the season, ensuring that the Team Vodafone driver won this year’s Armor All Pole Award for securing the most pole positions of any driver in the season.

The result certainly didn’t look likely if Whincup’s earlier runs were anything to go by; the Holden driver struggled to find grip and had a few off-track moments as he explored the limits of adhesion.

Lying eighth on the timesheets in the closing minutes of the twenty-minute qualifying session, Whincup rolled the dice one final time with a two-lap run. His first lap was enough to claim provisional pole, and his second lap saw him lower the benchmark by a further 0.03 seconds.

In the end, he finished 0.1 seconds faster than fellow front-row starter Mark Winterbottom (Ford Performance Racing).

But Whincup will be keeping a close eye on his mirrors at the start, with his main championship rival, team-mate Craig Lowndes, qualifying fourth-fastest, one spot behind provisional pole-sitter Lee Holdsworth (GRM Holden).

The top-six is completed by Shane van Gisbergen (Stone Brother Ford), Will Davison (FPR), Michael Caruso (GRM), Paul Dumbrell (Rod Nash Ford), Tim Slade (SBR) and James Moffat (Dick Johnson Ford).

With this qualifying session being held in dry weather, those who revelled in yesterday’s rain-hit conditions struggled in qualifying: the Holden Racing Team of Garth Tander and James Courtney line up 16th and 12th respectively, while Race 1 winner Rick Kelly lines up 15th.

This afternoon’s 65-lap race starts at 3:40pm local time.



V8 Supercars Norton 360 Sandown Challenge Qualifying Results (Race 2):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.6789
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 0.0974
3. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.1588
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.2352
5. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.2811
6. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.2922
7. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.3456
8. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.3527
9. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.4331
10. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.5411
11. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing + 0.5688
12. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.5841
13. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.6034
14. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport + 0.6318
15. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.6422
16. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.6529
17. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing + 0.6593
18. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.6986
19. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.7027
20. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.7037
21. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 0.7256
22. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing / Walkinshaw Racing + 0.7909
23. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 0.8193
24. Dean Fiore Ford Westrac Racing / Triple F Racing + 0.8920
25. Andrew Jones Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.9459
26. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 1.1201
27. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport + 1.3357
28. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil / Lucas Dumbrell + 1.3717

[Image via Team Vodafone; Video via V8 Supercars Media]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.