Jami Whincup is closer to claiming the V8 Supercars crown with his win at Sandown

V8 supercars points leader Jamie Whincup has moved closer towards claiming this year’s championship at the season-ending Telstra 500 in Sydney after winning the second race of the Norton 360 Challenge at Sandown Raceway.

Starting from pole position for today’s 65-lap race, the Team Vodafone Holden driver was never seriously threatened en route to claiming his tenth win of the year. It was a resounding answer to anyone who’d dared to question his mettle after a disappointing run to 13th in the rain at yesterday’s race.

Whincup was initially put under some pressure from Mark Winterbottom (Ford Performance Racing), who kept in touch with the help of a couple of safety car interruptions and some fast work from his mechanics during his pit stops.

Third place went to Winterbottom’s team-mate Will Davison, who came under stern pressure from Whincup’s sole championship rival, Craig Lowndes.

The top-ten was completed by Garth Tander, Shane van Gisbergen, Tim Slade, Lee Holdsworth, Rick Kelly and Steve Owen, who started on the back row of the grid.

Whincup now heads to the season-ending race, the Telstra 500 at Sydney’s Olympic Park, with a 188-point lead over team-mate Lowndes, with a maximum of 300 points up for grabs.



V8 Supercars Norton 360 Sandown Challenge Final Classification (Race 2 – 65 laps):

  Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering 1:22:18.5569
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 1.9766
3. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 2.8776
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 3.4395
5. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 3.9046
6. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 12.6062
7. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 / Stone Brothers Racing + 13.1982
8. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 14.0042
9. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 14.8800
10. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport + 17.4648
11. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 19.2863
12. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg / Walkinshaw Racing + 20.5706
13. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing + 24.1567
14. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living / Brad Jones Racing + 27.1829
15. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing + 27.5236
16. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 32.4711
17. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing + 32.8997
18. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 33.1716
19. Dean Fiore Ford Westrac Racing / Triple F Racing + 38.7010
20. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 38.8050
21. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 45.6521
22. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 58.0231
23. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport + 1:00.0583
24. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing / Lucas Dumbrell 1 lap behind
25. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing 2 laps behind
26. Andrew Jones Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 5 laps behind
DNF. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing 49 laps
DNF. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 26 laps

[Image via Team Vodafone; video via V8 Supercars]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.