Muller is congratuled by racewinner Huff, having secured his third WTCC crown

Rob Huff has become the first WTCC driver to claim a clean sweep of wins at Macau in a single weekend, but this wasn’t enough to deprive Chevrolet team-mate Yvan Muller from claiming a third championship crown; the Frenchman finished third to take the title by three points.

With Race 2 beginning with a standing start, the front row of Franz Engstler (Engstler BMW) and Michel Nykjær were slow to get away, allowing the grid’s customary fast starter Tom Coronel (ROAL BMW) to leap into an early lead from the second row of the grid.

Huff slotted into third behind Nykjær on the long run into the Lisboa right-hander, while Muller (who started from seventh) picked up fifth place from the faltering Engstler.

If Muller remained fifth, Huff needed to win at all costs to claim the championship, and further around the lap, he forced his Chevrolet into the car’s width-sized gap that Nykjær left open on the approach to the Paiol left-hander to claim second place.

Now set with the obstacle of Coronel up ahead, he quickly closed down the gap and swept by the Dutchman to claim the lead on Lap 3, just seconds before another safety car interruption, when Gary Kwok cemented his unimpressive WTCC debut by heavily crashing his Wiechers BMW at Mandarin.

The racing would get underway once again on Lap 7, but with Muller having climbed past Mehdi Bennani (Proteam BMW) to claim fourth, Huff’s only hopes rested on a disaster of some sort for Muller. If the race finished this way, the pair would tie on 430 points and on nine wins apiece – Muller would claim the crown by dint of having two more second-placed finishes than Huff.

Muller then put the matter beyond doubt when he passed Nykjær for third on the ninth lap.

The top-three positions ran in that order until the chequered flag, with Huff driving a pair of races in vain.

Gabriele Tarquini snatched fourth from fellow SUNRED runner Nykjær on the final lap, leaving the Dane to finish fifth, ahead of Bennani, Engstler, Tiago Monteiro, Norbert Michelisz and Javier Villa.



2011 FIA WTCC Race of Macau Final Classification (Race 2 – 11 laps):

Driver Team Result
1. Robert Huff GBR RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet 33:23.773
2. Tom Coronel NED ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW + 4.680
3. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 8.695
4. Gabriele Tarquini ITA Lukoil-SUNRED SR León 1.6T Sunred + 9.047
5. Michel Nykjær DEN SUNRED SR León 1.6T Sunred + 10.718
6. Mehdi Bennani MOR Scuderia Proteam BMW 320TC BMW + 11.066
7. Franz Engstler DEU Team Engstler BMW 320TC BMW + 12.241
8. Tiago Monteiro POR SUNRED SR León 1.6T Sunred + 15.126
9. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengõ-Dension Team BMW 320TC BMW + 16.686
10. Javier Villa García ESP Scuderia Proteam BMW 320TC BMW + 16.950
11. Pepe Oriola ESP SUNRED SR León 1.6T Sunred + 19.640
12. Darryl O’Young HKG Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 20.088
13. Kristian Poulsen DEN Team Engstler BMW 320TC BMW + 22.457
14. Charles Ka-Ki Ng HKG DeTeam KK BMW 320TC BMW + 39.267
15. Jo Merszei MAC Team Engstler BMW 320si BMW + 1:02.249
16. Philip Ma HKG Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si BMW 3 laps behind
DNF. Mak Ka Lok MAC RPM Racing Team BMW 320si BMW 7 laps
DNF. Filipe de Souza MAC Corsa Motorsport Chevrolet Lacetti BMW 6 laps
DNF. Gary Kwok CDN Wiechers-Sport BMW 320TC BMW 2 laps
DNF. André Couto MAC Lukoil-SUNRED SR León 1.6T Sunred 1 lap
DNS. Aleksei Dudukalo RUS Lukoil-SUNRED SR León 1.6T Sunred did not start
DNS. Alain Menu SUI RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet did not start
DNS. Kuok Io Keong MAC Corsa Motorsport Chevrolet Lacetti BMW did not start
DNS. Robert Dahlgren SWE Polestar Volvo C30 ‘Drive’ Volvo Injured
DNS. Fredy Barth SUI Swiss SR León 1.6T Sunred Injured

[Images via FIA WTCC Media]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.