Lewis Hamilton was the quickest driver on Friday at Interlagos

Lewis Hamilton has ended the opening day of running at the Brazilian Grand Prix on top of the timesheets after going quickest in today’s second practice session at the Sao Paulo’s Interlagos circuit. The 2008 Champion was closely pursued by the Red Bull pairing of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber.

With the afternoon’s session again occurring under sunny skies, Hamilton’s eventual 1:13.392 on a soft-tyre run was good enough to claim top spot on the timesheets, just 0.167 seconds fastest than Vettel, who was less than three-hundredths of a second quicker than team-mate Webber.

It was a closely-fought session overall, with just seven-tenths of a second splitting the top nine runners. Fernando Alonso finished mere fractions slower than Webber in fourth place, while Michael Schumacher managed to split the Ferraris and go fifth-fastest, one spot better than local hero Felipe Massa.

Jenson Button finished seventh-fastest, after being unable to improve his lap-time when he switched to the softer Pirelli rubber. He finished ahead of Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP) and the two Force India runners of Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta.

Interlagos has typically been one that highlights the strengths and shortcomings of the various cars, and its pattern of producing ‘Noah’s Ark’ style timesheets was on display again, as the teams wound up two-by-two from ninth place onwards.

Team Lotus’ near rear wing could be paying dividends, with Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen lapping just over half a second slower than the Williams runners (on aggregate), while they are comfortably ahead of the Virgin and HRT runners at the bottom of the timesheets.



2011 Brazilian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 1:13.392 35
2. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.167 41
3. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 + 0.195 41
4. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.206 35
5. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 0.331 38
6. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.358 39
7. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.395 36
8. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 0.480 42
9. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 0.752 41
10. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.415 48
11. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 1.464 38
12. Bruno Senna BRZ Renault R31 + 1.539 37
13. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C30 + 1.578 32
14. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 1.627 45
15. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 1.872 44
16. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 1.996 41
17. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.287 43
18. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 2.511 40
19. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 2.906 36
20. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 2.946 48
21. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 4.639 39
22. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 4.659 45
23. Daniel Ricciardo AUS HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 4.975 42
24. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 5.084 42

[Image via LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.