Paul di Resta

Formula 1 racers Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button and Paul di Resta have all received recognition at the annual British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) Awards ceremony, which was hosted by BBC F1 frontman Jake Humphrey.

Alonso won The Johnny Wakefied Trophy in recognition of his fastest-lap effort during this year’s wet/dry British Grand Prix, a race that he also won in his Ferrari.

Button, runner-up in this year’s Drivers’ Championship, won The John Cobb Trophy, while di Resta won The Fairfield Trophy for his “outstanding performance” this year as a BRDC member.

The late Dan Wheldon was also recognised by the BRDC, with the two-time Indy 500 winner awarded the Earl Howe Trophy, which his emotional family received in his honour.

A host of other motorsport luminaries made were recognised, including IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti, Red Bull Racing figures Adrian Newey and Christian Horner, Le Mans Series race-winner Anthony Davidson and Formula Renault 3.5 champion Robert Wickens.

[Image via GP Update]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.