Fans flocked to watch the V8 Supercars in action at Sandown Raceway

Will Davison has posted the fastest ever lap recorded in a touring car at Melbourne’s Sandown Raceway at today’s Official V8 Supercar Test Day. The Ford Performance Racing driver took his #6 Trading Post entry around the circuit with a blistering time of 1:09.3230, more than three-tenths better than the previous lap record.

Davison finished the day’s running almost a quarter of a second faster than last year’s championship runner-up Craig Lowndes, with Lee Holdsworth, Todd Kelly and Jonathon Webb rounding out the top-five on the timesheets.

With the event marking the one and only opportunity for the 28-car field to size one another up ahead of the season-opening Clipsal 500 in early March, a sizeable crowd took advantage of free admission by visiting the circuit to check out the on-track action.

After a brief show hit the circuit in the morning, conditions generally improved before the clouds rolled back in to deposit another shower on the track at about 3:00pm. Conditions cleared again, and it was then that Davison posted his incredible effort in his Ford Falcon.

The event was also an important opportunity for newly-signed drivers to get more familiar with their new cars and team surroundings. Former Garry Rogers racer Lee Holdsworth showed that he has handled the switch to a Ford with great ease, finishing the day third-quickest with a fastest time that was also quicker than the track’s previous lap record.

Other newly-signed drivers who drove well included David Reynolds (seventh-fastest, Rod Nash Racing) and Steve Owen (tenth-fastest, Dick Johnson Racing), while Michael Patrizi made his return to the series, ending the day eleventh-quickest in his currently unsponsored Tekno Holden.

With the test session compulsory for all teams on the 2012 entry list, some outfits ran interim or plain livery schemes ahead of their official launch ceremonies. With Lucas Dumbrell Motorsports team still to officially announce its main driver, it secured Development Series driver Taz Douglas for the day, running a plain white livery on its Holden Commodore.

This year’s main driver line-up features at least two series debutants, and it was no great surprise to find them at the bottom of the timesheets while they feel their way in on their first outings. David Wall (Brad Jones Racing) finished the day 26th-fastest, while former DTM pilot Alexandre Prémat was slowest in his Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden.


V8 Supercars Sandown Pre-Season Test Session – Fastest Times:

Driver Entry / Team Result Laps
1. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:09.3230 117
2. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.2358 132
3. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.2566 99
4. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.5004 79
5. Jonathon Webb Holden Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 0.5346 91
6. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.6146 90
7. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.6323 123
8. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.6560 87
9. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 0.6641 123
10. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.7275 60
11. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno + 0.7506 84
12. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.8441 88
13. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.8653 80
14. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.8677 76
15. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.8798 95
16. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.9296 58
17. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 1.1441 69
18. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 1.2034 63
19. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 1.2261 89
20. Tony D’Alberto Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing + 1.2697 54
21. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing + 1.2707 98
22. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 1.4139 127
23. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 1.5090 103
24. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 1.5530 108
25. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 1.6629 122
26. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing + 1.7403 113
27. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 1.8434 109
28. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 2.1420 126

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.