Darryl O'Young will complete Special Tune Racing's line-up for the 2012 WTCC season

Darryl O’Young will remain in the FIA World Touring Car Championship this year; it was announced overnight that the Hong Kong driver has signed to race with SEAT’s new factory-backed team, Special Tune Racing, as team-mate to Tom Boardman.

His former employer, Bamboo Engineering, announced yesterday that it had completely changed its line-up for the 2012 season, meaning that O’Young – who had raced for the outfit over the past two seasons – was effectively without a drive.

Driving one of the team’s Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T models, O’Young finished sixth in the Independent Trophy standings last year, claiming one class win and a further six podium finishes.

“I’m really looking forward to the new season ahead with Special Tuning Racing in the WTCC,” O’Young is quoted as saying in a team media release.

Darryl O'Young, 2011 “It is a new direction for me as I will be competing with a Seat León 1.6 turbo for the very first time, but I have every confidence in the car this year as SEAT Sport has been working hard on its new development over the winter. STR has had years of experience with the SEAT and I will do everything in my ability to help the team earn strong results on their return to WTCC racing.

“Our deal came together quite late which means we won’t be having any testing ahead of Monza,” he added.

“But I’m relieved we were able to finalise everything in time and we will work hard to catch up quickly and challenge for the Independent title. I’ve had a great two years with Chevrolet and Bamboo, and I’m looking forward to this new challenge and opportunity that lies ahead for me with Special Tuning Racing.

O’Young has already kicked of his 2012 year in excellent style, piloting Phoenix Audi’s challenger to victory in last weekend’s Bathurst 12 Hours.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.