Crag Lowndes has claimed pole position for tomorrow's first race at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide

Craig Lowndes has broken his Adelaide qualifying drought to claim a fine pole position for tomorrow’s season-opening V8 Supercars race at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide. The TeamVodafone Holden driver pipped HRT’s Garth Tander to top spot by just two-hundredths of a second in the Top-10 Qualifying Shootout this afternoon.

With last year’s pole-sitter Will Davison starting from third place for Ford Performance Racing, he shares the second row of the grid with Jonathon Webb, who delivered a shock fourth place in his sponsor-less Tekno Holden.

Lowndes claimed his first Clipsal 500 pole position after sixteen appearancesWebb had narrowly squeaked into the all-important Top-10 shootout, and his one-lap effort proved unbeatable for several competitors, including big-name runners like Jamie Whincup, Mark Winterbottom (fastest in the first phase of qualifying) and Shane van Gisbergen.

Winterbottom had headed the timesheets in the first qualifying session from Lowndes, Davison and Whincup, while David Renolds ensured that all three Ford Performance Racing entries were in the top-five.

The session was interrupted by two red flags. The first came when Karl Reindler’s Holden slapped the wall at Turn 3, and the second one came when Jason Bright had a spin in his Brad Jones Holden, sliding into the Turn 11 kitty litter.

Tomorrow’s action at Adelaide will see a twenty-minute morning warm-up, followed by the first 78-lap, 250-kilometre race in the afternoon.


2012 V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Adelaide – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result  
1. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:21.2738 T10
2. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:21.2908 T10
3. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:21.4194 T10
4. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno 1:21.5164 T10
5. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:21.5468 T10
6. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:21.6288 T10
7. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:21.7093 T10
8. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:22.8078 T10
9. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:22.0289 T10
10. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.3105 T10
11. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:21.2386 Q1
12. Tony D’Alberto Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:21.3746 Q1
13. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:21.4035 Q1
14. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:21.4148 Q1
15. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:21.4800 Q1
16. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:21.4966 Q1
17. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.5431 Q1
18. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.5915 Q1
19. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.5928 Q1
20. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno 1:21.6802 Q1
21. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 1:21.7532 Q1
22. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:21.7964 Q1
23. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.9426 Q1
24. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1:22.1907 Q1
25. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:22.1991 Q1
26. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 1:22.4358 Q1
27. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:29.3326 Q1
28. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing no time  

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.