Jamie Whincup has secured pole position for today's second Clipsal 500 race

Jamie Whincup has backed up his fantastic last-lap win at yesterday’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide opener to secure pole position in an incident-filled qualifying session for today’s second 78-lap race.

The TeamVodafone Holden driver posted a record-breaking lap-time of 1:20.5353 in the dying seconds of the session to beat Garth Tander (HRT Holden) to top spot by just one-tenth of a second.

No doubt hoping to alleviate the disappointment of losing out on a certain podium finish in yesterday’s race (after being forced to pit on the penultimate lap for a splash-and-dash pit stop), Mark Winterbottom finished the session as the best Ford driver to claim third on the grid, just ahead of Craig Lowndes and Rick Kelly.

Will Davison finished the session sixth-quickest, having briefly held provisional pole at one stage; he will start ahead of Lee Holdsworth, Tim Slade, Shane van Gisbergen and Michael Caruso.

With Race 1’s four retirees having managed to have their wrecked cars rebuilt after their respective Turn 8 smashes, it was a session of mixed fortunes. Jason Bright managed to qualify his Brad Jones Holden on the eighth row, four spots behind David Reynolds. Taz Douglas will line up 24th on the grid, but James Courtney will start from the rear of the grid after he lost drive in his Holden on his out-lap.

Courtney’s mechanical woes triggered the first of two red flags in this morning’s twenty-minute session.

The second was more dramatic, and occurring just as the session had resumed. An unsighted Greg Murphy slammed his Kelly Racing Holden into the back of Jonathon Webb’s Tekno Holden, causing significant damage to both cars. Neither will make the start of this afternoon’s race.


2012 V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Adelaide – Race 2 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:20.5353
2. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:20.6395
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:20.6436
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:20.8034
5. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:20.8160
6. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:20.9112
7. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:20.9115
8. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:20.9172
9. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:20.9816
10. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:21.0460
11. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:21.1962
12. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:21.3300
13. Tony D’Alberto Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:21.3329
14. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:21.3336
15. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:21.4095
16. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.4408
17. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1:21.5278
18. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.5429
19. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.6351
20. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 1:21.6741
21. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 1:21.7115
22. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:21.8156
23. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 1:22.0638
24. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1:22.0928
25. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 1:22.3120
26. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 1:22.4150
27. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing no time
28. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team no time

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.