Will Davison claimed his first V8 Supercars win in over two years

Will Davison has ended a 28-month-long winless streak today, leading team-mate Mark Winterbottom home to claim a Ford Performance Racing 1-2 on the streets of Adelaide in today’s second leg of the Clipsal 500 season-opener for the V8 Supercars Championship.

If anything, the result was a redemption for the cruel blow handed out to Davison yesterday, when he was denied victory on the final lap of the race after the team’s gamble on a two-stop race strategy backfired when the three-stopping Jamie Whincup nipped through to claim victory.

With FPR having one of the best fuel consumption records on the grid, the team was able to reverse its fortunes with a straightforward win from Garth Tander, who had finished in third place in yesterday’s first race. The dominant Triple 8 Racing Holdens of Whincup and team-mate Craig Lowndes had to settle for fourth and fifth places, respectively.

Tander led in the early stagesThe rain stayed away once again as the race got underway, and again Tander was able to make the better start from the dirty side of the front row to lead from pole-sitter Whincup.

But his reign at the front would prove short-lived, with Whincup forcing his way past the HRT driver on the eighth lap of the race.

Whincup was unable to eke out enough of an advantage, and he lost the race lead before half-distance when he reported that his car was suffering a momentary misfire. Tander took the lead without a second’s hesitation, and the FPR duo of Davison and Winterbottom nipped through as well.

The overnight set-up changes to the FPR cars had clearly done the trick, which allowed Davison and Winterbottom to pile pressure on Tander. On lap 47, Davison took the lead, and Winterbottom followed him through to bump Tander down to third.

And that’s the way the order ran, with Whincup keeping enough pace in hand to bring his car across the line in fourth, followed by team-mate Lowndes and Stone Brothers Ford driver Shane van Gisbergen, who completed the top-six.

Incredibly, the race ran lights-to-flag without a single safety car interruption, and this caused plenty of concern up and down the pit-lane as teams tried to run the 78-lap race on just two tyre and fuel stops.

It was FPR's first one-two since 2008It was also a race of surprisingly low attrition, with James Moffat being the race’s only retiree, courtesy of a power steering failure. James Courtney’s wretched weekend continued when he suffered a repeat of the driveshaft failure that saw him fail to register a qualifying time this morning; he would finish as the last runner after a lengthy pit stop to investigate the issue.

The circus now heads to Melbourne where it will be the lead support category during the Australian Grand Prix. Its races will not count towards the championship standings, which Davison currently leads from Whincup and Tander.


2012 V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Adelaide – Race 2 Final Standings (78 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Laps Result
1. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 78 1:48:31.423
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 78 + 4.845
3. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 78 + 9.090
4. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 78 + 21.175
5. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 78 + 26.335
6. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 78 + 27.477
7. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 78 + 35.859
8. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 78 + 44.316
9. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 78 + 54.339
10. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 78 + 54.404
11. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 78 + 54.781
12. Tony D’Alberto Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 78 + 1:05.310
13. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 78 + 1:19.877
14. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 77 + 1 lap
15. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 77 + 1 lap
16. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 77 + 1 lap
17. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 77 + 1 lap
18. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 77 + 1 lap
19. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 77 + 1 lap
20. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 77 + 1 lap
21. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 77 + 1 lap
22. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 77 + 1 lap
23. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 77 + 1 lap
24. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 77 + 1 lap
25. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 65 + 13 laps
DNF. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 16 + 59.758
DNS. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports   did not start
DNS. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing   did not start

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.