Craig Lowndes broke a 16-year drought to claim pole position at Symmons Plains

Craig Lowndes has claimed pole position today for the second race of this weekend’s V8 Supercars Falken Tasmania Challenge at Symmons Plains Raceway, just edging out Ford Performance Racing duo Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom for top honours in a closely-fought session.

The result was Lowndes’ first pole position at the venue since his maiden championship visit here way back in 1996, and he was a hot contender to claim pole after he broke the circuit’s unofficial lap record in this morning’s practice session.

Lowndes’ best lap in qualifying – a 51.04-second lap – came halfway through the twenty-minute session, and despite intense pressure from his rivals, none were able to leapfrog to the top of the order.

Davison and Winterbottom moved into second and third positions on their last flying laps, with Shane van Gisbergen hauling his Stone Brother Racing Ford into fourth. Lowndes’ team-mate Jamie Whincup was fifth-fastest.

The top-ten was completed by David Reynolds (Ford Performance Racing), Garth Tander (Holden Racing Team), Lee Holdsworth (Stone Brothers Racing), Tim Slade (Stone Brothers) and Jonathon Webb (Tekno).

V8 Supercars rookie Alexandre Prémat earned the best qualifying result of his so-far brief career in the championship, with the Frenchman securing 11th on the grid in his GRM Holden.


2012 V8 Supercars Falken Tasmania Challenge – Race 2 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 51.0408
2. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.0153
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 0.0446
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.0698
5. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.0881
6. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.1581
7. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.1754
8. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.1816
9. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.1869
10. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.2549
11. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.3155
12. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.3417
13. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4037
14. Tony D’Alberto Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.4053
15. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.4053
16. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.4361
17. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.4370
18. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4518
19. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.4666
20. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4730
21. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.4772
22. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.4902
23. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.6302
24. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing + 0.6698
25. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.6809
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 0.7962
27. David Russell Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 0.8501
28. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing + 1.0691

The afternoon sees the 28-car field undertake an 84-lap race, starting at 3:30pm AEST.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.