Jamie Whincup claimed victory in Race at Symmons Plains

Defending V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup has staged an impressive recovery drive to claim victory in the second and final race of the Falken Tasmania Challenge event at Symmons Plains Raceway. The TeamVodafone driver suffered a dramatic spin in the early stages of the race, but still managed to win from Shane van Gisbergen and yesterday’s race-winner Will Davison.

Perhaps reigning champion Jamie Whincup was inspired by fellow tin-top champion Yvan Muller, who himself had a spin in the second race of the Race of Italy earlier this month, which he also went on to win.

But in any case, Whincup showed his mettle to bounce back from a frustrating Saturday with a fine display of driving over today’s longer 84-lap race.

Lowndes outdragged Davison into Turn 1Team-mate and pole-sitter Craig Lowndes led the race early on, only to surrender the lead to Davison at the first round of pit stops. Attempting to regain the lead, Lowndes then made a rare mistake when he tagged the right-rear corner of Davison’s Ford as the pair braked for the Turn 4 hairpin. Lowndes’ front left suspension was completely destroyed and he was out of the race.

From that point on, Davison seemed to struggle with the handling of his car, and he lost places to team-mate Mark Winterbottom, followed by Whincup.

Whincup had himself had plenty of drama in the early stages of the race. Starting from fifth place, he was quickly up to third past van Gisbergen and Winterbottom, only to spin at the Hairpin and hand those places back.

Having recovered back up to what was an effective second place courtesy of Lowndes’ crash (and the Safety Car period that followed), Whincup harried Winterbottom for the lead until the second and final pit stops.

He took the lead when Winterbottom momentarily stalled as he tried to leave his pit bay, leaving the frustrated FPR driver to finish a frustrated fifth as van Gisbergen, Davison and Tim Slade were promoted ahead of him.

The top-ten were completed by Lee Holdsworth, Michael Caruso (who climbed up from 22nd on the grid), James Courtney, Jonathon Webb and Todd Kelly.

Whincup’s win means he now closes the points gap to Davison to just 18 points, while a consistent weekend for Winterbottom puts him just six points further adrift.

2012 V8 Supercars Falken Tasmania Challenge – Race 2 Result (84 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Laps Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 84 1:17:26.3867
2. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 84 + 5.004
3. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 84 + 6.6828
4. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 84 + 7.7663
5. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 84 + 9.2429
6. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 84 + 10.6119
7. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 84 + 19.7796
8. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 84 + 24.4142
9. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 84 + 27.6165
10. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 84 + 28.5769
11. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 84 + 34.5423
12. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 84 + 35.1267
13. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 84 + 37.9073
14. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 84 + 38.4144
15. Tony D’Alberto Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 84 + 42.2498
16. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 84 + 42.9788
17. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 84 + 43.1857
18. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 84 + 48.0102
19. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 84 + 48.9916
20. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 84 + 49.3237
21. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 83 + 1 lap
22. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 83 + 1 lap
23. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 83 + 1 lap
24. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 83 + 1 lap
25. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 82 + 2 laps
26. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 72 + 12 laps
DNF. David Russell Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 77 Engine
DNF. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 29 Accident

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.

Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)