Another rapid lap gave Nico Rosberg top honours in the second practice at Bahrain

With his maiden win at Shanghai still fresh in his memory, Nico Rosberg has posted the fastest lap-time in today’s second practice session for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Meanwhile, Force India stole some of the limelight with their decision to abandon any running in order to get its entire team back to its hotel before nightfall on what is feared to be the biggest day of anti-government protests in the island kingdom.

To the cameras, the teams management was citing the safety concerns of its staff members after four of its crew were caught up in a near-firebombing of their hire car on Wednesday evening. But the team’s press release claimed that the outfit had quit the afternoon’s running for “logistical reasons”.

To the action on-track, and it was again a largely incident-free session, although a couple of drivers had minor off-track moments as they explored the track limits and battled high tyre degradation on the abrasive track surface.

With the action taking place in front of a pathetic crowd that would be lucky to crack three figures, Mark Webber headed the timesheets early on in his Red Bull RB8 until his position was demoted a sensational flying lap from Rosberg, with the German’s 1:32.816 proving untouchable for the rest of the session.

Running the less-liked newer exhaust configuration once again, Sebastian Vettel finished the session third-quickest, with both Red Bulls showing decent pace over longer runs.

The morning session’s fastest man, Lewis Hamilton, was fourth-quickest in his McLaren, and complained that the set-up changes the team had made were now not to his liking. The 2008 World Champion finished ahead of Michael Schumacher, Jenson Button, Kamui Kobayashi, Fernando Alonso, Romain Grosjean and Sergio Pérez.

2012 Bahrain Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes AMG F1 W03 1:32.816   35
2. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Racing Renault RB8 1:33.262 + 0.446 26
3. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Racing Renault RB8 1:33.525 + 0.709 28
4. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-27 1:33.747 + 0.931 26
5. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes AMG F1 W03 1:33.862 + 1.046 31
6. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-27 1:34.246 + 1.430 28
7. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C31 1:34.411 + 1.595 34
8. Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari F2012 1:34.449 + 1.633 31
9. Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus F1 Renault E20 1:34.615 + 1.799 32
10. Sergio Pérez MEX Sauber Ferrari C31 1:34.893 + 2.077 34
11. Daniel Ricciardo AUS Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR7 1:34.895 + 2.079 29
12. Felipe Massa BRA Scuderia Ferrari F2012 1:34.941 + 2.125 29
13. Kimi Räikkönen FIN Lotus F1 Renault E20 1:35.183 + 2.367 33
14. Jean-Éric Vergne FRA Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR7 1:35.229 + 2.413 26
15. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Renault FW34 1:35.419 + 2.643 38
16. Vitaly Petrov RUS Caterham Renault CT01 1:35.913 + 3.097 32
17. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Caterham Renault CT01 1:35.968 + 3.152 35
18. Bruno Senna BRA Williams Renault FW34 1:36.169 + 3.353 30
19. Timo Glock DEU Marussia Racing Cosworth MR01 1:36.587 + 3.771 32
20. Charles Pic FRA Marussia Racing Cosworth MR01 1:37.803 + 4.987 33
21. Pedro de la Rosa ESP HRTF1 Cosworth F112 1:37.812 + 4.996 28
22. Narain Karthikeyan IND HRTF1 Cosworth F112 1:39.649 + 6.833 27
NP. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM05 no time   0
NP. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Force India Mercedes VJM05 no time   0

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.

Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)