Garth Tander has claimed pole position for the opening race of the ITM400 at Hamilton

Former V8 Supercars champion Garth Tander has claimed pole position for today’s first race of the final ITM 400 championship event on the streets of Hamilton.

The TOLL Holden Racing Team driver claimed top spot by just three-hundredths of a second in today’s Top-10 Shootout, edging out hometown favourite Shane van Gisbergen.

The pole shootout saw track conditions as the warmest that had been seen all weekend so far, and the conditions caught a few runners by surprise in the drivers’ single-lap run to claim pole position.

The biggest loser in all of this was Craig Lowndes, with the TeamVodafone Holden driver unable to balance his front-to-rear tyre temperatures, resulting in a wild flying lap that saw him as the slowest runner to post a legal lap-time in the session.

Lowndes struggled in the Top-10 Shootout Winterbottom's Top-10 qualifying lap was disallowed after he hopped the kerbs at the chicane

Two drivers fell victim to the Hamilton track’s utterly daft chicane on the back straight, with both Mark Winterbottom (Ford Performance Racing) and James Moffat (Dick Johnson Racing) both having their times disallowed after they took too much kerb through the clumsy corner sequence.

Despite Moffat’s woes, Dick Johnson Racing proved to be surprisingly competitive in qualifying trim, with three of its four entries making the Top-10 Shootout in an unexpected shake-up of the form guide. Moffat’s team-mates Steve Owen and Steven Johnson will start from fifth and seventh on the grid.

Series leader Will Davison will start from sixth placeFord Performance Racing and TeamVodafone were the only outfits to get all of their entries into the Shootout. Despite Winterbottom’s troubles, qualifying ace David Reynolds claimed a solid third in his Bottle-O entry, while team-mate and points’ leader Will Davison (quickest in the first phase of qualifying) was sixth-fastest in the Shootout, despite suffering the effects of a cold. Davison’s closest championship rival Jamie Whincup was fourth-fastest.

The first phase of qualifying was closely fought on the tough street circuit, with just one second covering the top-seventeen runners in the opening twenty minute session.

Street circuit specialist Lee Holdsworth was unlucky to miss out on a top-ten berth and will start from eleventh place, sharing the sixth row of the grid with Tony D’Alberto.

The advent of a new Commodore chassis did little to improve the fortunes of 2010 champion James Courtney, who could only qualify his TOLL HRT entry seventeenth-fastest.

Brad Jones Racing’s form slide continued, with Fabian Coulthard being the only driver in the three-car outfit would could make the top-fifteen on the grid, while team-mates Jason Bright and series rookie David Wall will start from the back row in their Holdens.

Today’s 59-lap race starts at 3:00pm local time.


2012 V8 Supercars ITM400 Hamilton – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result  
1. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:22.3968 T10
2. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.4346 T10
3. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:22.5075 T10
4. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:22.6050 T10
5. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 1:22.8748 T10
6. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:22.9017 T10
7. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:23.3308 T10
8. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:25.9050 T10
9. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing Disallowed T10
10. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing Disallowed T10
  Driver Top-10 Shootout Cut-Off Time 1:22.3658  
11. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.3812 Q1
12. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:22.4124 Q1
13. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 1:22.4323 Q1
14. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:22.5330 Q1
15. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:22.6396 Q1
16. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 1:22.6574 Q1
17. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:22.8369 Q1
18. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:22.8786 Q1
19. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:22.9056 Q1
20. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.9210 Q1
21. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:22.9507 Q1
22. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1:23.0538 Q1
23. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:23.0662 Q1
24. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:23.1030 Q1
25. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1:23.2122 Q1
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 1:23.2146 Q1
27. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:23.2378 Q1
28. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 1:23.9033 Q1

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.