Will Davison has claimed pole position for today second race at the ITM 400

Yesterday’s race-winner Will Davison has secured a Ford Performance Racing front-row lockout after winning pole position ahead of team-mate Mark Winterbottom, ahead of the second and final race of the V8 Supercars championship’s last visit to Hamilton in New Zealand.

Davidson and Winterbottom managed to overhaul provisional pole-sitter Jamie Whincup, who ended his session early with an uncharacteristic error in qualifying that saw him hit the wall. Whincup took too much kerbing at the Turn 4 chicane, and his attempts to correct his error only saw him compound it further when he swiped the wall and broke his steering.

With a big time gap to this afternoon’s 59-lap race, his TeamVodafone crew should be able to get all of the necessary repair work done so he can start from third place on the grid, alongside team-mate Craig Lowndes.

The third row of the grid featured a pair of FPR customer cars, with David Reynolds showing his usual qualifying prowess to claim fifth, while Tony D’Alberto finished the session an impressive sixth-fastest in his newly-liveried Ford.

Garth Tander, Fabian Coulthard, James Moffat and Lee Holdsworth made up the rest of the top ten.

2012 V8 Supercars ITM400 Hamilton – Race 2 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:21.9712
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:21.9858
3. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:21.9914
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:22.1295
5. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:22.1684
6. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:22.2423
7. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:22.3789
8. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:22.4135
9. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 1:22.4538
10. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.4970
11. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 1:22.5042
12. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:22.5156
13. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:22.5367
14. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.5528
15. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:22.6571
16. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 1:22.6739
17. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:22.6950
18. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:22.7021
19. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:22.9390
20. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1:22.9901
21. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 1:23.0240
22. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:23.1494
23. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:23.1999
24. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:23.2946
25. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1:23.3398
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 1:23.4898
27. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 1:23.7206
28. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:23.7991

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.

Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)