Edoardo Mortara has earned his first ever DTM pole position

Edoardo Mortara has claimed his first-ever DTM career pole position with a sensational performance in qualifying for this weekend’s championship round at the Red Bull Ring.

The Italian racer made it into the fourth and final stage of qualifying, posting the quickest time in the Q4 single-lap shootout for pole position. He shares the front row with current championship leader Gary Paffett, while Mortara fellow Audi runner Mattias Ekström was third-quickest.

Joey Hand qualified a career-best fifth-fastestDefending DTM champion Martin Tomczyk was fourth-fastest in the session, the only BMW runner to make it into the final four. The German had a scrappy flying lap in Q4, launching his BMW over the kerbs at Turn 1 and incredibly avoiding major damage to his car.

Tomczyk’s Team RMG BMW team-mate Joey Hand qualified a career-best fifth-fastest, narrowly being eclipsed for a Q4 berth in the closing stages of the third phase of qualifying.

Hand shares the third row of the grid with fellow BMW runner Bruno Spengler, while Jamie Green (Mercedes) and Filipe Albuquerque (Audi) will start from the fourth row of the grid – Albuquerque ensuring that both Rosberg Audis made it into the top-ten of the grid for the first time this season.

Despite showing good pace earlier in qualifying, both Dirk Werner and Ralf Schumacher were the slowest runners in Q3 and will occupy ninth and tenth places on the grid. The result was still Schumacher’s best qualifying performance of the season to-date.

2012 DTM Race of Spielberg – Qualifying Results:

1. Edoardo Mortara ITA Team Rosberg Audi Audi 1:26.171 Q4
2. Gary Paffett GBR HWA Team Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.292 Q4
3. Mattias Ekström SWE Abt Sportsline Audi Audi 1:26.319 Q4
4. Martin Tomczyk DEU Team RMG BMW BMW 1:26.408 Q4
5. Joey Hand USA Team RMG BMW BMW 1:25.927 Q3
6. Bruno Spengler CAN Team Schnitzer BMW BMW 1:25.963 Q3
7. Jamie Green GBR HWA Team Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.022 Q3
8. Filipe Albuquerque POR Team Rosberg Audi Audi 1:26.294 Q3
9. Dirk Werner DEU Team Schnitzer BMW BMW 1:26.309 Q3
10. Ralf Schumacher DEU HWA Team Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.340 Q3
11. Augusto Farfus Jr BRA Team RBM BMW BMW 1:26.068 Q2
12. Miguel Molina ESP Phoenix Racing Audi Audi 1:26.251 Q2
13. Mike Rockenfeller DEU Phoenix Racing Audi Audi 1:26.274 Q2
14. Christian Vietoris DEU HWA Team Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.320 Q2
15. Adrien Tambay FRA Audi Sport Team Abt Audi 1:26.449 Q2
16. Timo Scheider DEU Abt Sportsline Audi Audi 1:26.519 Q2
17. Robert Merhi ESP Persson Motorsport Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.605 Q1
18. Andy Priaulx GBR Team RBM BMW BMW 1:26.620 Q1
19. Robert Wickens CAN Mücke Motorsport Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.725 Q1
20. Susie Wolff GBR Persson Motorsport Mercedes Mercedes 1:26.914 Q1
21. Rahel Frey SUI Audi Sport Team Abt Audi 1:27.057 Q1
22. David Coulthard GBR Mücke Motorsport Mercedes Mercedes 1:27.117 Q1

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.