An infamous win: Schumacher is handed victory within sight of the chequered flag

Ten years ago today, Ferrari was hit with the largest fine in Formula 1 history (at the time) following one of the most controversial chapters in the sport at the 2002 Austrian Grand Prix, where the team flagrantly exercised team orders to give Michael Schumacher victory.

The fine itself wasn’t for the use of team orders – indeed, they were perfectly legal at the time (although far from popular) – but for Schumacher and team-mate Rubens Barrichello breaching the FIA’s strict podium guidelines.

Barrichello accepts the winner's trophy, an act that cost Ferrari a $1 million fineAfter being handed victory by Barrichello in the final few hundred metres of the race, a contrite and shame-faced Schumacher pushed Barrichello onto the top step of the podium to claim the winner’s trophy, while thousands of fans in the grandstands booed and jeered the Ferrari pair.

The team was unrepentant in its behaviour, with Team Principal Jean Todt – the man who currently serves as the President of the FIA, the sport’s governing body – arguing that the team was ensuring Schumacher could score the maximum possible number of points to push him closer toward a championship title.

Ferrari has been no stranger to the use of team orders before, or since, although its use today is still frowned upon. It still begs the question of whether or not it has its place in the sport.

2002 Austrian Formula 1 Grand Prix – Final Classification (71 laps):

Driver Team Laps Result Grid
1. Michael Schumacher DEU Scuderia Ferrari F2002 71 1:33:51.562 3
2. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Scuderia Ferrari F2001 71 + 0.182 1
3. Juan Pablo Montoya COL Williams – BMW FW24 71 + 17.730 4
4. Ralf Schumacher DEU Williams – BMW FW24 71 + 18.448 2
5. Giancarlo Fisichella ITA DHL Jordan – Honda EJ12 71 + 49.965 15
6. David Coulthard GBR McLaren – Mercedes MP4/17 71 + 50.672 8
7. Jenson Button GBR Renault F1 Team R202 71 + 51.229 13
8. Mika Salo FIN Panasonic Toyota Racing TF102 71 + 1:09.425 10
9. Allan McNish GBR Panasonic Toyota Racing TF102 71 + 1:09.718 14
10. Jacques Villeneuve CAN BAR – Honda 004 70 Engine 17
11. Heinz-Harald Frentzen DEU Arrows – Cosworth A23 69 2 laps behind 11
12. Mark Webber AUS KL Minardi – Asiatech PS02 69 2 laps behind 21
DNF. Jarno Trulli ITA Renault F1 Team R202 44 Fuel Pressure 16
DNF. Alex Yoong MAS KL Minardi – Asiatech PS02 42 Engine 22
DNF. Eddie Irvine GBR Jaguar Racing – Cosworth R3 38 Hydraulics 20
DNF. Nick Heidfeld DEU Sauber – Petronas C21 27 Collision 5
DNF. Takuma Sato JPN DHL Jordan – Honda EJ12 26 Collision 18
DNF. Olivier Panis FRA BAR – Honda 004 22 Engine 9
DNF. Felipe Massa BRZ Sauber – Petronas C21 7 Suspension 7
DNF. Kimi Räikkönen FIN McLaren – Mercedes MP4/17 5 Engine 6
DNF. Enrique Bernoldi BRZ Arrows – Cosworth A23 2 Collision 12
DNF. Pedro de la Rosa ESP Jaguar Racing – Cosworth R3 0 Throttle 19
Michael Schumacher DEU Scuderia Ferrari F2002 68 1:09.298  

CLICK HERE to order your RF1 Coffee Cup Combo!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.