2012 Iowa Corn 250 2012 Iowa Corn 250 2012 Iowa Corn 250

After 250 drama-packed laps of the Iowa Speedway, it was Ryan Hunter-Reay who, for the second time in two weeks, withstood considerable carnage around him to be first past the post when it counted to take back-to-back wins and the Andretti Autosport team’s third win at Iowa.

The race ended under caution, as a late spin by Katherine Legge ensured the race would finish under yellow. Victory for the second race running firmly stamped Hunter-Reay’s contention for the 2012 championship, as most of his major rivals fell around him.

The race was delayed by almost an hour due to showers which washed away all the rubber laid down from practice sessions and the qualifying races, but once that cleared and the track dried, the drama certainly did not.

Before the green flag even fell, smoke was pouring from the back of pole-sitter Dario Franchitti’s car, as his Honda engine – the same one that won Indianapolis for him – cried enough and gave up in a plume of white smoke and his DW12 came to a steady stop at the entrance to the pit lane.

In a race of high attrition, championship leader Will Power found himself in the wall along with EJ Viso, and entirely at Power’s fault. Power’s spotter failed to notify him of Viso moving up the inside, and Power moved down to the low line through Turn 1, collecting Viso and putting both in the wall.

A similar incident happened later in the race with Ryan Briscoe, who was collected by rookie Josef Newgarden.

Briscoe retired after being collected by Josef Newgarden Hinchcliffe ran well until he crashed out
Ryan Briscoe and James Hinchcliffe both ran well until crashing out in separate accidents

Another championship contender in James Hinchcliffe failed to see the finish, losing the rear end of his car late in the race in a combination of cold tyres following a caution and running in the dirty air behind Hunter-Reay.

Pagenaud was again a standout performer, finishing fifth after starting dead last Scott Dixon was in contention much of the day, running very quickly, especially considering worries throughout the Chip Ganassi team of a repeat engine issue.

Leading late in the event, Dixon was passed by Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Tony Kanaan after his tyres deteriorated, eventually finishing fourth.

The standout performer of the day was Simon Pagenaud, who managed his tyres and fuel to perfection, coming through the field from dead last to finish fifth, in another outstanding performance from the Sam Schmidt rookie driver.

But the man of the moment is undoubtedly Ryan Hunter-Reay, who will be wishing the streak of races to continue next week to keep his momentum going. Unfortunately though, we have two weeks now until another stretch of road courses, as the series heads north of the border for the first of a two-race stretch in Canada, at Exhibition Place in Toronto on July 8.

2012 IndyCars Iowa Corn 250 – Final Classification (250 laps):

  Driver   Entrant   Laps Result
1. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport Chevrolet 250 1:43:39.3031
2. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport Chevrolet 250 + 0.1103
3. Tony Kanaan BRA KV Racing Technology Chevrolet 250 + 2.7245
4. Scott Dixon NZL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 250 + 3.0075
5. Simon Pagenaud (R) FRA Schmidt Hamilton Honda 250 + 3.8468
6. Hélio Castroneves BRA Team Penske Chevrolet 250 + 5.3061
7. Rubens Barrichello BRA KV Racing Technology Chevrolet 250 + 5.9890
8. Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 250 + 6.9856
9. Graham Rahal USA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 250 + 7.1607
10. Justin Wilson GBR Dale Coyne Racing Honda 249 1 lap behind
11. Charlie Kimball USA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 248 2 laps behind
12. Takuma Sato JPN Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 247 3 laps behind
13. James Jakes GBR Dale Coyne Racing Honda 245 5 laps behind
14. Simona de Silvestro SUI Lotus-HVM Racing Lotus 244 6 laps behind
DNF. Katherine Legge (R) GBR Dragon Racing Chevrolet 243 Spin
DNF. Alex Tagliani CAN Bryan Herta Autosport Honda 207 Mechanical
DNF. James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport Chevrolet 195 Accident
DNF. Ryan Briscoe AUS Team Penske Chevrolet 178 Collision
DNF. Josef Newgarden (R) USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Honda 178 Collision
DNF. Mike Conway GBR AJ Foyt Enterprises Honda 123 Mechanical
DNF. Oriol Servià ESP Dreyer & Reinbold / Panther Chevrolet 98 Mechanical
DNF. JR Hildebrand USA Panther Racing Chevrolet 95 Accident
DNF. Will Power AUS Team Penske Chevrolet 67 Collision
DNF. EJ Viso VEN KV Racing Technology Chevrolet 67 Collision
DNF. Dario Franchitti GBR Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 0 Engine

CLICK HERE to order your RF1 Coffee Cup Combo!

Matthew Lennon
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.