Mark Winterbottom has claimed pole position for Race 1 of the Sucrogen Townsville 400

Mark Winterbottom has secured another Ford Performance Racng front row lockout by beating team-ate David Reynolds to pole position ahead of the first of this weekend’s V8 Supercars races on the streets of Townsville.

The pair had also led the way on the timesheets in today’s opening qualifying session – used to decide the make-up of the later Top-10 Shootout and the remaining places on the grid – and then repeated the feat in their single flying lap efforts in the pole shootout.

Lining up right behind them are TeamVodafone pairing Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes, while Tony D’Alberto lines up a season’s best fifth in his Ford Falcon.

After what has been a wretched season so far, Dick Johnson Racing managed to get three of its four cars into the Top-10 Shootout in what is easily its most competitive showing of the year. Steve Owen will start from sixth place, while team-mates James Moffat is eighth, one spot ahead of Steven Johnson.

Championship challenger Will Davison will start today’s 200-kilometre race from seventh place after he scraped the wall.

Slowest of the Shootout runners was former champion Garth Tander, who locked up on his one and only flying lap and will have to settle for a fifth-row starting position. That being said, it’s still a vastly better effort than that produced by HRT team-mate James Courtneym who again delivered a lacklustre effort and will line up only 23rd, missing out on a top-ten spot by four-tenths of a second.

Having been among the slowest of the runners at each of the practice sessions so far, Kelly Racing stand-in Jacques Villeneuve qualified slowest in his Holden Commodore.

2012 V8 Supercars Sucrogen Townsville 400 – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result  
1. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:12.9887 T10
2. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:13.0132 T10
3. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:13.0800 T10
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:13.2554 T10
5. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:13.2927 T10
6. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 1:13.4820 T10
7. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:13.5263 T10
8. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 1:14.8932 T10
9. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:14.2117 T10
10. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:15.6891 T10
  Driver Top-10 Shootout Cut-Off Time 1:12.7667  
11. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1:12.7790 Q1
12. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:12.8239 Q1
13. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:12.8660 Q1
14. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:12.8776 Q1
15. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:12.8989 Q1
16. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 1:12.9457 Q1
17. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 1:12.9984 Q1
18. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:13.0257 Q1
19. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:13.0403 Q1
20. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:13.1039 Q1
21. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:13.1679 Q1
22. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:13.1710 Q1
23. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:13.1726 Q1
24. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 1:13.1764 Q1
25. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1:13.3200 Q1
26. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:13.3873 Q1
27. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 1:13.6520 Q1
28. Jacques Villeneuve Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:14.4131 Q1

Check out the ultimate Bathurst 1000 package!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.