Dario Franchitti has won pole position for the Honda Indy Toronto

Dario Franchitti has claimed pole position for Sunday’s Honda Indy Toronto round, narrowly pipping championship leader Will Power to pole position in one of the most closely-fought qualifying sessions of the season.

Just two-tenths of a second covered the fastest six drivers in the final phase of qualifying. Texas race-winner Justin Wilson held provisional pole heading into the final minute, before he was pipped by Power.

Franchitti stayed out for one last flying lap, and crossed the line with a time just 0.02 seconds better than the Australian’s to claim top spot and the bonus championship point that goes with it.

Bourdais was an impressive fourth-fastestBack in the cockpit for this weekend’s street course event, Sébastien Bourdais produced a scintillating effort to finish fourth-fastest for his Dragon Racing team, a great result for the outfit which had seen two of its mechanics hospitalised in a Friday practice accident when they were run over by, coincidentally, Wilson.

Scott Dixon was the only driver from the same team as another ‘Fast Six’ combatant, and the New Zealander will line up fifth for Sunday’s race.

Local hero Alex Tagliani made it into the ‘Fast Six’ in his Bryan Herta entry, but he will take a ten-place grid penalty for an out-of-cycle engine change, promoting Ryan Hunter-Reay – winner of the last two races – to the third tow of the grid.

The lower positions of the grid were given a bit of a shake-up by a tough ballot draw that determined the make-up of the two ‘heat’ groups that would fight it out for the fastest six spots each to make it into the second phase of qualifying.

The second group, in particular, was the tough gig, with two entries apiece from Team Penske and Chip Ganassi Racing, as well as all three Andretti and KV Racing entries.

Not surprisingly, there were a few who missed out on a better grid berth, with Ryan Briscoe, Tony Kanaan, Rubens Barrichello and Marco Andretti all starting well down the order and with a tough race ahead of the them to try and net a decent result at the end of the race.

2012 IndyCar Series Honda Indy Toronto Final Qualifying Results:

  Driver Entrant Result  
1. Dario Franchitti GBR Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 59.3510 ‘Fast Six’
2. Will Power AUS Team Penske Chevrolet 59.3757 ‘Fast Six’
3. Justin Wilson GBR Dale Coyne Racing Honda 59.4506 ‘Fast Six’
4. Sébastien Bourdais FRA Dragon Racing Chevrolet 59.4721 ‘Fast Six’
5. Scott Dixon NZL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 59.5140 ‘Fast Six’
6. Alex Tagliani* CAN Bryan Herta Autosports Honda 59.5616 ‘Fast Six’
7. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport Chevrolet 59.4829 ‘Round 2’
8. Hélio Castroneves BRA Team Penske Chevrolet 59.5476 ‘Round 2’
9. James Hinchcliffe* CAN Andretti Autosport Chevrolet 59.5958 ‘Round 2’
10. Simon Pagenaud FRA Schmidt Hamilton Honda 59.6650 ‘Round 2’
11. Takuma Sato JPN Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 59.8197 ‘Round 2’
12. Graham Rahal USA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 59.8966 ‘Round 2’
13. Mike Conway GBR AJ Foyt Enterprises Honda 1:00.0718 ‘Group 1’
14. Ryan Briscoe AUS Team Penske Chevrolet 59.9888 ‘Group 2’
15. Charlie Kimball USA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 1:00.1557 ‘Group 1’
16. Oriol Servià ESP Panther / Dreyer & Reinbold Chevrolet 1:00.0004 ‘Group 2’
17. JR Hildebrand USA Panther Racing Chevrolet 1:00.4508 ‘Group 1’
18. Tony Kanaan BRA KV Racing Technology Chevrolet 1:00.1207 ‘Group 2’
19. James Jakes GBR Dale Coyne Racing Honda 1:00.5440 ‘Group 1’
20. Rubens Barrichello BRA KV Racing Technology Chevrolet 1:00.2043 ‘Group 2’
21. Simona de Silvestro* SUI Lotus-HVM Racing Lotus 1:00.6709 ‘Group 1’
22. Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda 1:00.2199 ‘Group 2’
23. Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 1:01.0333 ‘Group 1’
24. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport Chevrolet 1:00.6145 ‘Group 2’
25. EJ Viso VEN KV Racing Technology Chevrolet 1:02.5280 ‘Group 1’

* Will incur a ten-place grid penalty for an engine change

CLICK HERE to order your RF1 Coffee Cup Combo!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.