David Reynolds has claimed his maiden V8 Supercars pole position

Perennial V8 Supercars frontrunner David Reynolds has finally claimed his maiden V8 Supercars pole position today, leading a Ford Performance 1-2-3 on the streets of Townsville ahead of this afternoon’s second race of the Sucrogen Townsville 400.

In another tightly-fought contest, Reynolds emerged on top by just 0.07 seconds from yesterday’s pole-winner, team-mate Mark Winterbottom, while Will Davison was third-quickest by a similar margin.

The result marks Renolds’ fifth front-row appearance in his last six qualifying outings, giving him the ideal platform to chase down his first win of his championship career in today’s 200-kilometre race.

In another impressive showing for Dick Johnson Racing, Steve Owen finished up fourth-fastest, while Craig Lowndes, James Courtney, Jonathon Webb, Fabian Coulthard, Jamie Whincup and Michael Patrizi rounded out the top ten positions on the grid.

Owen is not expected to be able to carry this pace through to the race, however, following the series’ officials overnight ruling that his simultaneous use of soft and hard tyre compounds in the same stint – a stunt conjured up by team manager Paul Morris for yesterday’s race – would no longer be allowed.

V8 Supercars returnee, former F1 and IndyCar champion Jacques Villeneuve, will be hoping for a decent race showing today, despite qualifying slowest of all the 28 runners today. The French-Canadian showed some decent pace in yesterday’s race – getting up to the fringes of the top ten early on – before he was sidelined by an engine problem in his Kelly Racing run Holden Commodore.

2012 V8 Supercars Sucrogen Townsville 400 – Race 2 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:13.0132
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 0.0672
3. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1312
4. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.1883
5. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.1948
6. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.2541
7. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.2819
8. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.3160
9. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.3499
10. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.3618
11. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.3629
12. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.3954
13. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.4475
14. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4526
15. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4825
16. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.4850
17. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.5712
18. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.6088
19. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.6145
20. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.6819
21. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.6917
22. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.7113
23. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing + 0.7279
24. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.8007
25. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 0.8215
26. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 1.0626
27. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing + 1.1805
28. Jacques Villeneuve Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 1.8514

Check out the ultimate Bathurst 1000 package!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.