Will Davison has claimed pole position for today's final race at Ipswich

Ford Performance Racing’s leading duo, Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom, have claimed an all-important front row lockout ahead of today’s closing race at the Coates Hire Ipswich 300 at Queensland Raceway.

Davison’s final flying lap proved good enough to snatch top spot in today’s twenty-minute qualifying run, edging out team-mate Winterbottom by a scant two-hundredths of a second.

With conditions hotter today than during yesterday’s qualifying session, none of the field’s 28 drivers had a hope of bettering the record-breaking lap time posted by yesterday’s pole-sitter and race-winner Craig Lowndes, who starts today’s 200-kilometre race from fourth place, with TeamVodafone team-mate and series leader Jamie Whincup third-fastest.

Russell Ingall’s outstanding weekend continued into today’s qualifying session, with the series veteran qualifying a superb fifth in his Walkinshaw-run Holden Commodore.

Jonathon Webb was sixth-fastest in his Tekno Autosports Holden, with an overnight engine change proving to be the tonic for the owner/driver, who lines up ahead of Fabian Coulthard and Shane van Gisbergen.

Michael Caruso and Tony D’Alberto punched above their weight to claim the fifth row, with the top-ten runners covered by just a quarter of a second.

The grid spread was incredibly tight, and those who were unable to extract those valuable few-tenths of a second were punished with lowly grid spots.

A case in point was the TOLL HRT squad, which saw James Courtney line up 18th, while team-mate Garth Tander was mired down the order in 24th position.

2012 V8 Supercars Coates Hire Ipswich 300 – Race 2 Qualifying Results:

  Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:09.4828
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:09.5046
3. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.5078
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:09.5776
5. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 1:09.5861
6. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 1:09.6139
7. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1:09.6441
8. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.6640
9. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:09.6968
10. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX / Tony D’Alberto Racing 1:09.7423
11. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.7488
12. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.7847
13. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 1:09.7864
14. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.7918
15. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.8328
16. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:09.8329
17. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:09.8330
18. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:09.8762
19. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 1:09.8763
20. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1:09.9130
21. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 1:09.9147
22. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1:09.9310
23. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 1:10.0122
24. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:10.0144
25. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1:10.1356
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 1:10.2665
27. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 1:10.4098
28. Jacques Villeneuve Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1:10.8630

Check out the ultimate Bathurst 1000 package!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.