Garth Tander and Ryan Briscoe will reunite for this year's ArmorAll Gold Coast 600

The Walkinshaw Performance stable has finalised the driver line-up it will run in next month’s ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 endurance event, in which the V8 Supercars’ regulars will share their cockpits with a host of ‘international class’ drivers.

As was the case at last year’s event, IndyCar racer Ryan Briscoe and British GT driver Darren Turner will serve as co-drivers in Garth Tander and James Courtney’s respective TOLL HRT entries.

Meanwhile, endurance racing veteran Peter Dumbreck will make his V8 Supercars debut in the SuperCheap Auto-sponsored entry driven by Russell Ingall.

Dumbreck has been a team-mate of fellow GC600 entrant David BrabhamDumbreck currently races in the World Endurance Championship alongside David Brabham in the Highcroft Racing HPD LMP1 entry (pictured), and he has plenty of tin-top racing experience under his belt as well. Along with his endurance racing background, the Scot has also competed in GT racing, sports car racing and contested the DTM championship for five years.

“I’m really excited to be racing V8 Supercars,” the 38-year-old said in a team media release.

“I watched last year’s race on TV – it was a great spectacle, the racing was close and the track looks amazing. The cars are close to my heart, similar in ways to DTM and Super GT.

“I’ve also heard they are difficult to drive, so I’m under no illusion that I’ll jump in and be quick straight away. The pre-race test will be important for me to get my head around the car and what I need to do to take care of it for Russell and his championship.”

The announcement means that just three seat vacancies are still up for grabs, with the two-car Tekno Autosport team and the one-car Tony D’Alberto Racing stables still to confirm the identities of their international co-drivers.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport operation is still to announce which of its hired co-drivers – out of James Hinchcliffe and Ricky Taylor – will be partned with regular drivers Michael Caruso and Alexandre Prémat.

Since its inaugural ‘co-driver’ realignment in 2010, the event has proven a popular billing for motorsport stars who have raced in a host of categories, including Formula 1, the IndyCar Series, Le Mans Series and the FIA GT championships.

This year’s event is no exception, with the provisional entry list reading as follows:

2012 V8 Supercars ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Provisional Entry List:

Entry / Team Driver Co-Driver
1. Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing Holden Jamie Whincup Sébastien Bourdais
2. TOLL / Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe
3. HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto TBA
4. Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Lee Holdsworth Simon Pagenaud
5. Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power
6. Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Mika Salo
7. Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Marco Andretti
8. Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin
9. SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Jeroen Bleekemolen
11. Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing Holden Karl Reindler Franck Montagny
12. Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli
14. Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Nicolas Minassian
15. Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Graham Rahal
17. Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Max Papis
18. Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Peter Kox
19. Tekno Autosports Holden Jonathon Webb TBA
21. Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing Holden David Wall J. Campbell-Walter
22. TOLL / Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney Darren Turner
30. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden Taz Douglas Mike Conway
33. Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Alexandre Prémat James Hinchcliffe?
34. Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Ricky Taylor?
47. Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade David Brabham
49. VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steve Owen Boris Said
51. Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Justin Wilson
55. The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash Ford David Reynolds Nick Heidfeld
66. Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing Holden Russell Ingall Peter Dumbreck
91. Tekno Autosports Holden Michael Patrizi TBA
888. Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing Holden Craig Lowndes Richard Lyons

Check out the ultimate Bathurst 1000 package!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.