Tekno Autosports has revealed its co-driver line-up for next month's ArmorAll Gold Coast 600

The Tekno Autosports team has become the penultimate team to finalise its driver line-up for next month’s ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 round of the V8 Supercars championship, which pairs the series’ regular drivers with a guest line-up of ‘international class’ drivers.

The two-car team, run by owner/driver Jonathon Webb, has secured the services of Porsche GT veteran Marc Lieb and former Formula 1 racer and Pirelli test driver Lucas di Grassi for the pair of 300-kilometre races around the streets of Surfers Paradise.

Having served as Pirelli's official F1 tyre tester, di Grassi made a return to racing last weekend at the FIA WEC round at Sao Paulo, driving for the Audi works teamFormer Virgin Racing F1 driver di Grassi had been signed to drive at last year’s event with Webb, but had to pull out at the eleventh hour; his seat was taken by former IndyCar champion Gil de Ferran.

This year, di Grassi will team up with Webb’s team-mate Michael Patrizi, marking the maiden appearance at Surfers Paradise for the pair of them.

“It is an awesome opportunity to partner a highly credentialed driver such as Lucas,” said Patrizi.

“I’m looking forward to racing in the Gold Coast 600 for the first time, having Lucas alongside me will ensure we have a good chance at racing towards the pointy end [of the field].”

imageFor Lieb, this will be his second appearance at Surfers Paradise, having acted as the co-driver last year for Alex Davison’s IRWIN Tools entry, run by Stone Brothers Racing (pictured).

“Marc Lieb is an ideal partner for the Gold Coast 600 endurance event, he was consistently fast in 2011, and has had great successes in endurance racing,” adds Webb.

“He is the right man for the job.”

Today’s announcement means that Team HIFLEX (Tony D’Alberto Racing) has the sole remaining seat up for grabs.

The provisional entry list reads as follows:

2012 V8 Supercars ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Provisional Entry List:

Entry / Team Driver Co-Driver
1. Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing Holden Jamie Whincup Sébastien Bourdais
2. TOLL / Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe
3. HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto TBA
4. Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Lee Holdsworth Simon Pagenaud
5. Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power
6. Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Mika Salo
7. Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Marco Andretti
8. Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin
9. SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Jeroen Bleekemolen
11. Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing Holden Karl Reindler Franck Montagny
12. Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli
14. Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Nicolas Minassian
15. Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Graham Rahal
17. Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Max Papis
18. Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Peter Kox
19. Tekno Autosports Holden Jonathon Webb Marc Lieb
21. Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing Holden David Wall J. Campbell-Walter
22. TOLL / Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney Darren Turner
30. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden Taz Douglas Mike Conway
33. Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Alexandre Prémat James Hinchcliffe?
34. Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Ricky Taylor?
47. Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade David Brabham
49. VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steve Owen Boris Said
51. Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Justin Wilson
55. The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash Ford David Reynolds Nick Heidfeld
66. Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing Holden Russell Ingall Peter Dumbreck
91. Tekno Autosports Holden Michael Patrizi Lucas di Grassi
888. Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing Holden Craig Lowndes Richard Lyons

Check out the ultimate Bathurst 1000 package!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.