Back together again - Vitantonio Liuzzi will reunite with Tony D'Alberto at this year's Gold Coast 600

Former F1 driver Vitantonio Liuzzi will reunite with Tony D’Alberto at this year’s ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 round on the V8 Supercars championship calendar, bringing to end the speculation as to who would claim the last remaining seat at the popular October endurance event.

The identity of D’Alberto’s co-driver had remained a secret until now, with the Italian-Australian announcing that he has secured the services of Liuzzi, with whom he drove at last year’s event.

Liuzzi in action last yearLiuzzi became the first current-racing F1 driver to join the V8 Supercars championship when he made his V8 Supercars debut last year. The pair retired in the first race and claimed a 19th-placed finish in the second 300-kilometre event around the streets of Surfers Paradise, and despite the lack of results, Liuzzi impressed with his speed in the unfamiliar car.

Perhaps it was this foray into tin-tops that prompted Liuzzi to join Italy’s premier touring car championship, the Superstars Series, this year.

Driving a C63 AMG Mercedes, Liuzzi is sensationally leading the championship standings with two rounds to go.

“V8 Supercars is always a dream category to me because I really enjoyed last year and performance and speed were good so I hope to repeat and become even stronger this year. I see that the team and Tony are having a stronger championship than last year so I hope we can aim for a big result,” Liuzzi said of his signing for this year’s Gold Coast 600.

The provisional entry list reads as follows:

2012 V8 Supercars ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Provisional Entry List:

Entry / Team Driver Co-Driver
1. Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing Holden Jamie Whincup Sébastien Bourdais
2. TOLL / Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe
3. HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing Ford Tony D’Alberto Vitantonio Liuzzi
4. Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Lee Holdsworth Simon Pagenaud
5. Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Will Power
6. Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Mika Salo
7. Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing Holden Todd Kelly Marco Andretti
8. Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin
9. SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Shane van Gisbergen Jeroen Bleekemolen
11. Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing Holden Karl Reindler Franck Montagny
12. Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli
14. Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Nicolas Minassian
15. Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing Holden Rick Kelly Graham Rahal
17. Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steven Johnson Max Papis
18. Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing Ford James Moffat Peter Kox
19. Tekno Autosports Holden Jonathon Webb Marc Lieb
21. Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing Holden David Wall J. Campbell-Walter
22. TOLL / Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney Darren Turner
30. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden Taz Douglas Mike Conway
33. Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Alexandre Prémat James Hinchcliffe?
34. Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Michael Caruso Ricky Taylor?
47. Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing Ford Tim Slade David Brabham
49. VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing Ford Steve Owen Boris Said
51. Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing Holden Greg Murphy Justin Wilson
55. The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash Ford David Reynolds Nick Heidfeld
66. Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing Holden Russell Ingall Peter Dumbreck
91. Tekno Autosports Holden Michael Patrizi Lucas di Grassi
888. Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing Holden Craig Lowndes Richard Lyons

Check out the ultimate Bathurst 1000 package!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.